Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-23-2012, 07:53 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Question

Ground outlet to telephone line?


I have an ungrounded outlet right next to an old-style four pronged telephone jack. With a temporary setup I get a good ground per my outlet tester when grounding the outlet via the grounding prong in the telephone jack. I want to use a 1amp AC/DC converter on this outlet, and I want it to be grounded. Can I take advantage of this nearby phoneline ground or is the wiring too small for a safe ground for this converter?

owmytoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 08:06 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,446
Default

Ground outlet to telephone line?


NO you can not. The telephone wire is probably only #22 or 24. Much too small to use for a power line ground.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (11-23-2012)
Old 11-24-2012, 11:54 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

Ground outlet to telephone line?


NO you can't do that!

Not safe!

Warning, Danger, etc.!!!

Have an electrician pull a new wire from the panel and be sure the panel grounding is "up to snuff".
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 12:57 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

Ground outlet to telephone line?


Quote:
Originally Posted by owmytoe View Post
With a temporary setup I get a good ground per my outlet tester when grounding the outlet via the grounding prong in the telephone jack.
There is NO ground prong on a tel jack.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (11-24-2012)
Old 11-24-2012, 07:18 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Falmouth, MA.
Posts: 30
Default

Ground outlet to telephone line?


Some telephone blocks have as big as an 8 gage ground. Better check the size!
neo565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 07:22 PM   #6
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Default

Ground outlet to telephone line?


Quote:
Originally Posted by neo565 View Post
Some telephone blocks have as big as an 8 gage ground. Better check the size!
Yes, possibly where the service enters the house, but sure as heck not at a telephone jack! He's talking about an old 4 prong jack, sot a service entrance block!

TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
four prong, ground, outlet, phoneline, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ground Wire in Electrical Outlet Box - Where does it go? jgiannis Electrical 3 06-19-2012 02:12 PM
small secondary countertop outlet issue rasz Electrical 8 11-07-2011 04:14 PM
Bathroom GFCI Outlet trouble RyG1357 Electrical 3 08-20-2011 03:40 PM
Ground to water line MikeKy55 Electrical 3 01-24-2011 08:03 PM
telephone line buzzing latinomusician Electrical 2 06-09-2010 05:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.