Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-14-2008, 02:05 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

Ground/Nuetral Bar (out of room)

After searching the forum, I understand that doubling up on the ground bar is OK but a big NO-NO on the neutral bar.

I am finishing my basement and have added 7 new circuits. However, I don't have ONE single spot open on either the ground bar or neutral bar. Attached are some pictures if I am being unclear. From what I can imagine (total newbie), I have two options.

1. Find some place that sells bigger bars with larger capacities
2. Piggyback another bar on top of the others.

Normally, I can find something that works. But..what is the best way to expand these bars?

And one more thing. The clamps at the top of the box that accept wire, can they be "tripled up" or is two wires the max they accept? All of mine only have 2 wires coming into each although they look to have room for a third.

Thanks a lot!
Attached Thumbnails
Ground/Nuetral Bar (out of room)-full.jpg   Ground/Nuetral Bar (out of room)-neutral_ground.jpg  

Last edited by henlij; 07-14-2008 at 02:06 PM. Reason: forgot something
henlij is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 05:56 PM   #2
Retired from the grind

Rewards Points: 62

I would personally call a Electrician, due to some Cities will not allow a person to do their own electrical, and that is for a reason. As for the original question, if every place on the Neutral/Ground bus if filled, then you may have to look at moving some over to a Sub-Panel, and go from there.

Even if the guy/woman you call does not do any work, they can double check your work, and give you an assessment in what do at the main.

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 06:02 PM   #3
Electrician

just buy an add on ground bar and move some of the grounds around, dont mess with the existing neutrals.