Ground In New Breaker Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2011, 03:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ground in new Breaker panel


I am installing a new breaker panel, it is seperate from the meter panel so I assume this is considered a sub panel. Can I run a ground from the main panel and connect to the neutral buss in the new panel or do I have to have a seperate ground buss. Do I use the green screw and connect it in the new "sub Panel"?

Advertisement

lioninoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 04:24 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,978
Rewards Points: 2,212
Default

Ground in new Breaker panel


What exactly is it that you are calling a 'meter panel'?

Advertisement

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 05:35 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,390
Rewards Points: 3,574
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Ground in new Breaker panel


If the sub panel is in the same building you need to feed it with a four wire cable and separate the neutral and the ground.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 06:03 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,977
Rewards Points: 2,050
Default

Ground in new Breaker panel


If the meter panel has no switch or breaker that would turn off your new panel then ground and neutral busses at your new panel would be interconnected (bonded) and you would not need a separate ground wire.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 06:29 PM   #5
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,258
Rewards Points: 2,486
Default

Ground in new Breaker panel


You need to supply more information ... but ... if the panel or enclosure your calling the "meter panel' has circuit breakers or fuses regardless of whether there is a main single throw breaker any panel load side of that panel is a non service panel or in laymens terms a sub-panel and you would run a 4 wire feeder to that 'sub-panel' if your sub-panel is located in the same dwelling your meter panel is attached. Neutral and ground would be separated.

A little more detail would help us get a clear picture of what your describing
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sub panel grounding bcarl Electrical 4 01-23-2011 11:37 PM
Subpanel next to Main panel wired the same in 1990 Uncle Wayne Electrical 3 01-20-2011 01:43 AM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 08:40 PM
breaker panel question chadvavra Electrical 11 08-10-2007 10:20 AM
breaker panel Ehren51 Electrical 1 01-28-2004 08:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts