Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-27-2011, 10:06 AM   #1

Share |

Ground and neutral tied together and 15amp receptacle on 30amp breaker

I had a 15 amp GFCI convience outlet on the outside of my house in an in-use box stop working. Would not reset. Replacing the receptacle resolved the issue.

While troubleshooting it I found the junction box it is connected to.

The junction box is fed with 10-2 from a 30amp breaker it has 14-2 going to the GFCI outlet outside and more 10-2 going to one of my AC condensors.

The neutrals and grounds are all tied together in this box.

Everything is working fine, but while I am no electrician - I cannot think that feeding a 15amp GFCI on 14-2 via 10-2 on a 30amp breaker is a good idea - plus the neutrals and ground tied together.

Thoughts?

Last edited by argetni; 09-27-2011 at 01:35 PM.
argetni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 10:11 AM   #2
Licensed electrician

Air conditioner compressor circuits are normally 240 volts and do not have a neutral. Someone created an illegal neutral and unsafe condition by using the grounding conductor.

General purpose circuits also cannot be on 30 amp circuits.

You have a mess that needs to be fixed.

Old 09-27-2011, 10:17 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Air conditioner compressor circuits are normally 240 volts and do not have a neutral. Someone created an illegal neutral and unsafe condition by using the grounding conductor.

General purpose circuits also cannot be on 30 amp circuits.

You have a mess that needs to be fixed.
As long as I do not overload the 15amp receptacle it should be ok for now, correct? I don't want that 14-3 acting as a fuse which is what I assume would happen were I to overload the receptacle.

All the wiring I have encountered in the house is sketchy so far.
Old 09-27-2011, 10:55 AM   #4

Quote: