Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-05-2012, 12:33 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ground loop problem!


Just a simple question for many of you!
Can I ground a wall socket simply by adding a wire connected to the grounding pin and the other to a water tap, pipe, etc?

abhinavjoshua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 02:05 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

Ground loop problem!


Quote:
Originally Posted by abhinavjoshua View Post
Just a simple question for many of you!
Can I ground a wall socket simply by adding a wire connected to the grounding pin and the other to a water tap, pipe, etc?
No.

But you can ground a wall socket by adding a wire connected to the grounding pin and running the wire all the way down to the electrical panel where you connect it to the ground terminal strip (ground bus bar) there. The wire does not have to follow the exact route of the circuit wires or cable.

This assumes that the panel itself is grounded (#6 copper wire from the Neutral bus bar to a pair of 8 foot ground rods at least 6 feet apart).

Unplug all of the audio and video cables that run between the pieces of equipment. (Label them so you know how to hook them up again) Leave the copper wire daisy chaining from one piece to another in place.

Now work backwards. (Start by connecting the last piece of equipment, typically a power amplifier, to the speakers) Check for hum. Then connect the next piece. Which piece when reconnected, starts up the hum again?
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 08-05-2012 at 02:09 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
abhinavjoshua (08-05-2012)
Old 08-05-2012, 02:10 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 737
Rewards Points: 618
Default

Ground loop problem!


The problem here isn't related to electric power ground so fixing that won't fix your humming problem.

Sounds like the power supply for the pc is coupling into the power supply and introducing noise into the audio circuits. You need to know if the noise is in the wav file or just in the audio playback circuits.

If you playback a prior recorded file which was recorded with laptop power supply plugged in but listen to it without laptop power supply is there hum?

What anoint vice versa?
curiousB is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to curiousB For This Useful Post:
abhinavjoshua (08-05-2012)
Old 08-05-2012, 05:12 PM   #19
Learning Things Every Day
 
Jay 78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MI
Posts: 555
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Ground loop problem!


When I bought my house, I discovered that the bridge pickup of my bass would buzz when connected to my laptop via my effects processor. My guitar is currently out of commission, so I haven't been able to verify that it would suffer the same problem, but considering I haven't had this problem with this bass anywhere else but my house, I'm sure it would.

Recording while having the AC adapter plugged in adds extra interference, so I always record on battery power.

Although I haven't tried it yet, I'm told that the solution is a ground loop isolator.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...olator&x=0&y=0

They're inexpensive, and perhaps worth a try.
__________________
Under Construction
Jay 78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 05:49 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,286
Rewards Points: 570
Default

Ground loop problem!


My stage hand buddys deal with this alot. As an electrician, I know it works and don't ask questions.They use isolation xfmrs...
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 11:23 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ground loop problem!


Quote:
Originally Posted by curiousB View Post
If you playback a prior recorded file which was recorded with laptop power supply plugged in but listen to it without laptop power supply is there hum?

What anoint vice versa?
If there is hum while I am playing then it can surely be heard in the wav file also no matter the charger is connected or not!
abhinavjoshua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 11:50 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 843
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Ground loop problem!


It could be your AC is dirty. Which you would see on a scope. You could try a line conditoner.
Hardway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 01:09 AM   #23
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Ground loop problem!


He would need to check his local code. Some countries its ok to ground an ungrounded receptacle to a water line. I know there's a provision here for something along those lines.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to andrew79 For This Useful Post:
abhinavjoshua (08-06-2012)
Old 08-06-2012, 05:44 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,595
Rewards Points: 2,150
Default

Ground loop problem!


Quote:
Originally Posted by abhinavjoshua View Post
Okay! So what can I do to prevent it?
Everything used in the recording process,
needs to grounded to one point,
and that point should be grounded.

If this doesnt stop the hum,
then there are other issues involved,
But try it first and see what happens.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
abhinavjoshua (08-06-2012)
Old 08-06-2012, 08:28 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 210
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Ground loop problem!


Getting noise and interference from laptop power supplies is a VERY common problem, and one I have seen many times. Most of it stems from the sub-par quality that the transformers are with. Unfortunatley, the only fix may be to either purchase a computer transformer from a third party, or use a different computer manufacturer....Unfortunatley, it's hit or miss knowing which computer companies have bad transformers or not! Apple computers seem to be better, and many (but not all) of the Dell laptops work good. Having a 3rd prong on the power cord means nothing because the problem is between the computer an the transformer, not the transformer and the wall socket.

The issue stems in that the ground between the computer and the transformer "floats" above earth ground. When you connect your computer to an earth-grounded device, you will get the humming and buzzing as power flows out the chassis of the computer to an earth ground.

One thing you may want to try is using a USB audio interface, and not the built-in sound card in the computer. This may resolve the issue because the USB audio interface may not be grounded back to the computer. Also, some of them have balanced line XLR inputs which will cancel the noise out anyways. If you are doing any serious audio recording, I recommend this anyways, as most on-board laptop sound circuits are junk!
av-geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 10:34 AM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ground loop problem!


Quote:
Originally Posted by av-geek View Post
Getting noise and interference from laptop power supplies is a VERY common problem, and one I have seen many times. Most of it stems from the sub-par quality that the transformers are with. Unfortunatley, the only fix may be to either purchase a computer transformer from a third party, or use a different computer manufacturer....Unfortunatley, it's hit or miss knowing which computer companies have bad transformers or not! Apple computers seem to be better, and many (but not all) of the Dell laptops work good. Having a 3rd prong on the power cord means nothing because the problem is between the computer an the transformer, not the transformer and the wall socket.

The issue stems in that the ground between the computer and the transformer "floats" above earth ground. When you connect your computer to an earth-grounded device, you will get the humming and buzzing as power flows out the chassis of the computer to an earth ground.

One thing you may want to try is using a USB audio interface, and not the built-in sound card in the computer. This may resolve the issue because the USB audio interface may not be grounded back to the computer. Also, some of them have balanced line XLR inputs which will cancel the noise out anyways. If you are doing any serious audio recording, I recommend this anyways, as most on-board laptop sound circuits are junk!
I am using a USB audio interface!
abhinavjoshua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 10:36 AM   #27
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Ground loop problem!


Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew79 View Post
He would need to check his local code. Some countries its ok to ground an ungrounded receptacle to a water line. I know there's a provision here for something along those lines.
I live in India. The humming is gone now but not completely. I connected a copper wire to the grounding pin and the other end was connected to the water pipe. The humming has dropped!
What else I can do to strengthen up the ground?
abhinavjoshua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 12:31 PM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Ground loop problem!


Quote:
Originally Posted by abhinavjoshua View Post
What else I can do to strengthen up the ground?
As someone else said, run the grounding wire outside into ground rods driven at least 2meters into the ground. The piping system of your house may not be a great conductor (corrosion in pipe joints, etc.).
freedomlives is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 04:22 PM   #29
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Ground loop problem!


Quote:
Originally Posted by freedomlives View Post
As someone else said, run the grounding wire outside into ground rods driven at least 2meters into the ground. The piping system of your house may not be a great conductor (corrosion in pipe joints, etc.).
Ground rods are not related to that little hole on a receptacle..... god how this inflames me. They are bonded together, but serve no useful purpose in clearing a ground fault.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 06:00 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,595
Rewards Points: 2,150
Default

Ground loop problem!


Quote:
Originally Posted by abhinavjoshua View Post
What else I can do to strengthen up the ground?
Remember I said there could be other issues involved !

These other issues involve the electrical supply system around you,
and could also involve neighbours systems too !
If these are not all done correctly this could cause currents
to flow in your grounding system.

Its not always easy to solve these issues.

dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How does grounding work? scyarch Electrical 44 06-12-2012 04:59 PM
Ground Location and Wire Size LHB_Texas Electrical 25 05-27-2011 09:38 AM
Connecting new dishwasher and garbage disposal -- no ground wire in the conduits. arca Electrical 17 03-28-2011 02:06 AM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Ground Wire Problem ScubaRaven Electrical 11 06-08-2006 02:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.