Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-17-2011, 08:28 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 15
Share |
Default

Ground on light switch


My house was built in 1992. I find that the light switches are not grounded. But the books I am reading all show a ground terminal on a light switch.

These are plastic boxes, not metal.

When did grounded light switches come into use?

Thanks.


Last edited by bw777; 02-17-2011 at 08:32 AM.
bw777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 08:39 AM   #2
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Ground on light switch


I know it has been in the code since 1999...Can't say before that, as I don't have an NEC that old. Whether it was code or not, it would be a good idea (and relatively inexpensive) to get grounding switches in there and get that ground landed on them.

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 11:51 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Midwest
Posts: 19
Default

Ground on light switch


One quick question-- Are these switches plastic? I have seen double insulated switches that do not need to be grounded as they have no conductive parts that could become energized. Maybe you started with this switche and as they failed someone put regular switches in without using the ground.
SparkandArc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 04:25 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

Ground on light switch


NEC 404.9(B) does not exempt any type of switch mounted in a plastic box. So if it is in a plastic box, it in fact is required to be grounded. I'm citing the '02 because that's what I've got handy right now.

Many, many, many electricians fail to ground switches in plastic boxes. I bet I write it four or five times a week.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 05:02 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Midwest
Posts: 19
Default

Ground on light switch


I think you misunderstood my post. I was talking about plastic Switches, not plastic boxes. If the yoke on the switch is plastic and there is no possible way of any of it becoming energized,( exept internal connections and termination screws) then it does not need to be grounded. They would have to be listed as being Double Insulated. 250.114 Ex

Last edited by SparkandArc; 02-17-2011 at 05:06 PM.
SparkandArc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 05:05 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

Ground on light switch


Grounding of metal-strapped wall switches has been a requirement since the 1970's.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 09:26 AM   #7
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Ground on light switch


When I moved into my house, built in '98, the misses wanted all the switches changed to decor style. When doing so, I found many of them to be plastic yokes, by Eagle Co. None of them had a ground terminal. Thankfully the installer didn't cut the ground wire short, but rather just pushed it to the back of the box.

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Light will now switch off Manjo62 Electrical 3 02-10-2011 11:59 AM
Hi, new here and have a question about light switch in bathrooms Tazznum1 Electrical 2 01-26-2011 08:31 AM
adding second light from a switch agsurfer Electrical 3 09-10-2010 12:01 PM
Bedrooms have no ceiling light, light switch controls one electrical outlet? notenoughtime Electrical 16 05-25-2009 12:09 AM
Adding second light switch to an existing light TexasEd Electrical 7 08-15-2008 06:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.