Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-12-2010, 08:50 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 65
Share |
Default

Ground on Kidde i12060 fire alarm


we are remodeling an rental and have retrofitted hardwiring for smoke alarms. However we bought Kidde i12060 alarms that have White, Black, and Red; no ground. What do I do with the ground wire from my 12 gauge romex wiring?
Steve Burke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 08:53 PM   #2
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Default

Ground on Kidde i12060 fire alarm


Is your cabinet metal or a plastic?

This was a brain blip.

Last edited by codeone; 01-12-2010 at 08:56 PM.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 08:55 PM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 168
Send a message via Yahoo to Magnettica
Default

Ground on Kidde i12060 fire alarm


The smoke detector's made of plastic. Therefore there's nothing to ground. Plastic does not conduct electricity.
__________________
Union County, NJ, Licensed Electrician

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 08:55 PM   #4
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Default

Ground on Kidde i12060 fire alarm


These type alarms do not use a ground because of the plastic housing. Still tie your grounds together from one alarm box to the next and just fold up into the j-box.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 08:58 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 65
Default

Ground on Kidde i12060 fire alarm


Yikes you guys are fast...and thanks. i have three alarm. the first two will have grounds tiied together, the last in series will have the end tucked inside the plastic box without connection. Going to do this now.
Steve Burke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 09:05 PM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 168
Send a message via Yahoo to Magnettica
Default

Ground on Kidde i12060 fire alarm


That's right, plastic box, plastic device, no worries.

If something cannot conduct electricity there's no sense in grounding (bonding) it.
__________________
Union County, NJ, Licensed Electrician

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smoke Alarms Just Would Not Stop lundyg Electrical 2 12-30-2009 08:09 AM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
high voltage fire alarm jungboklee Electrical 3 01-26-2009 09:07 PM
why wouldn't circuit breaker prevent fire? fauer Electrical 26 11-28-2008 08:38 PM
12v diff between ground and neutral at panel am9518 Electrical 7 02-25-2008 06:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.