Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-09-2013, 03:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Share |
Default

Ground from extetior meter


My neighbor just accidentally cut the ground wire from the meter to the ground rod. Can the be spliced back together or is it best to have it replaced. Is there any safety issue until it's fixed
Roger0205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 03:48 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,063
Default

Ground from extetior meter


It will be cheaper to replace it that having someone Cadweld or put an irreversible splice on it.

The only danger would be if you had a surge or lightning strike until it is repaired.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 03:54 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Default

Ground from extetior meter


Thanks. Exactly what I was thinking
Roger0205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 03:56 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Oviedo, FL near Orlando
Posts: 227
Default

Ground from extetior meter


It is best to have it replaced. Cadweld is acceptable. I'm not sure about split bolts.

Surge protectors may be rendered completely ineffective. The house may be unprotected from lightning. Safety is compromised.

Oops, Jim said it faster, and better.

Last edited by Glennsparky; 11-09-2013 at 03:58 PM.
Glennsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 04:26 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,924
Default

Ground from extetior meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger0205 View Post
My neighbor just accidentally cut the ground wire from the meter to the ground rod. Can the be spliced back together or is it best to have it replaced. Is there any safety issue until it's fixed
See the following regarding why the ground needs to be there: http://inspectapedia.com/electric/El...Inspection.htm It is not there just for Lightning strikes or surges.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 04:33 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,686
Default

Ground from extetior meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
See the following regarding why the ground needs to be there: http://inspectapedia.com/electric/El...Inspection.htm It is not there just for Lightning strikes or surges.
That is TOTAL BS. I'll bet you $100.00 I can connect a conductor directly from a breaker to a ground rod and the breaker will NOT trip. The current must go back to the source, not the earth.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3vvvv5QVZoA

Last edited by brric; 11-09-2013 at 05:14 PM.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (11-10-2013), Philly Master (11-09-2013)
Old 11-09-2013, 05:03 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,245
Default

Ground from extetior meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
See the following regarding why the ground needs to be there: http://inspectapedia.com/electric/El...Inspection.htm It is not there just for Lightning strikes or surges.
Totally wrong information… typical though. Ground rods are installed for lightning strikes, not to facilitate the operation of an over current protection device….
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
brric (11-09-2013), danpik (11-09-2013), electures (11-09-2013), Jim Port (11-10-2013), Philly Master (11-09-2013), Speedy Petey (11-09-2013)
Old 11-09-2013, 05:43 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 278
Default

Ground from extetior meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Totally wrong information… typical though. Ground rods are installed for lightning strikes, not to facilitate the operation of an over current protection device….
AND, accidental faults between the primary and secondary at the utility transformer.
Know A Little is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 05:45 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 278
Default

Ground from extetior meter


What do the kids say OMG....THis guy is so far off the mark


Quote:
Why we need electrical grounding

The grounding system at a building provides an easy path for electricity to flow to earth should a problem, such as a short circuit, occur.

Allowing current to flow to earth through the ground system helps assure that a circuit breaker will trip or fuse will blow should a problem occur. Properly operating these overcurrent devices help prevent fire and shock.

Should an electrical fault occur where no ground path is present, the electrical potential is just sitting there waiting for a person to come along, touch some component of the system, and by accidentally providing a path to earth through their body, receive a burn or potentially fatal shock.
Know A Little is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 06:30 PM   #10
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,924
Default

Ground from extetior meter


Time to repost this video again.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EQiMr...layer_embedded
http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu...ic/bregnd.html
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?

Last edited by gregzoll; 11-09-2013 at 06:36 PM.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 06:38 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,681
Default

Ground from extetior meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
See the following regarding why the ground needs to be there: http://inspectapedia.com/electric/El...Inspection.htm It is not there just for Lightning strikes or surges.
I agree. Mostly inaccurate BS. It's a shame so many folks rely on sites like that.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 06:40 PM   #12
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,681
Default

Ground from extetior meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
WHAT AT ALL does this have to do with the OP or grounding electrodes????
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
electures (11-09-2013), stickboy1375 (11-09-2013)
Old 11-09-2013, 06:58 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Burkburnett TX
Posts: 11
Default

Ground from extetior meter


Wow! I've been "lurking" this forum for some time and after this, I couldn't resist joining. And all I can say is OMG at some of the stuff that is mentioned about electricity on here. It's a wonder most folks don't burn their house down! But I must also add, the professional electricians on here are very impressive with their advice. However, Mr. Greg IC3 (Interior Communications Electrician - on Ships, Enlisted E-3), dude, you should really stick to hooking up home stereo systems / telephones and leave the electrical advice to those that know their stuff. Your video and hyper-links make no sense to the topic at hand and are simply worthless nonsense period. (as mentioned by others). Just some friendly advice that will more likely be taken as a stab. Sorry, dude. Other than that, just had to opine. Interesting forum.
NotaDIY/Pro is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to NotaDIY/Pro For This Useful Post:
djlandkpl (11-09-2013), electures (11-09-2013), Philly Master (11-10-2013), stickboy1375 (11-09-2013)
Old 11-09-2013, 07:19 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,205
Default

Ground from extetior meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
See the following regarding why the ground needs to be there: http://inspectapedia.com/electric/El...Inspection.htm It is not there just for Lightning strikes or surges.
I clicked on the inspectapedia link and my virus program went nuts. Says the site is known for malicious content.
__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 07:30 PM   #15
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,924
Default

Ground from extetior meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
WHAT AT ALL does this have to do with the OP or grounding electrodes????
The answer is that it all has to do with why there is a grounding system in place on today's electrical system. Here, maybe this can make it clearer for you http://www.pfeiffereng.com/Principal...0Grounding.pdf
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
running ground for new upgraded 200 Amp service mbaldwin Electrical 11 05-26-2013 09:51 AM
Subpanel - equipment ground feed wire not terminated peaks Electrical 2 12-27-2012 04:37 PM
To ground or not to ground Red Squirrel Electrical 2 10-14-2010 08:42 PM
Wiring an outlet using both ground screws instead of pig-tailing together. cabber24 Electrical 5 08-26-2010 08:40 AM
Sub Panel Grounding Question. RobertS Electrical 63 02-27-2008 01:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.