Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-18-2011, 08:16 PM   #31
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,853
Share |
Default

Ground connection


Quote:
Originally Posted by frank otero View Post
All this began when my gas stove's igniters started to act up (tend to spark on their on while cooking) and the manufacturer (electrolux) kept blaming the ground or lack thereof, claiming that the stove requires its own ground (although the installation does not call for that and it even allows you to ground through the neutral where permited by code). The tech (not an electrician himself) said that by code I needed four wires going into my service panel - I think we have dispelled that here.

I took apart the junction box that feeds the stove - four wires - and disconnected the stove. I had continuity from the ground wire that feeds the stove to the ground bus bar and neutral bar in the service panel, and also to the rod outside.

I will check with the electric company to see if the wire from the ground rod is bonded at the meter....I could cut the seal but......

Thank you very much for taking your time with my problem.

You would only be allowed to ground thru the neutral if it were an electric stove (range).

A ground or lack thereof would not allow your igniters to start sparking on their own. Please have the manufacturer connect you with the technical department to explain how that could happen.

You said there are four wires coming into the junction box where your 120 volt gas stove is connected. Was this for a different appliance than your new gas stove ?

4 wires to cooking appliances usually means ovens or electric ranges and 120/240 volts.

Regardless though I'm not seeing clearly how the igniters can start sparking because of a lack of a ground at the stove or the electrical panel.

Most igniters are powered thru an electonic low voltage module usually 24 volt ac.

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 02-18-2011 at 08:19 PM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 09:45 PM   #32
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Ground connection


Quote:
Originally Posted by frank otero View Post
I took apart the junction box that feeds the stove - four wires - and disconnected the stove. I had continuity from the ground wire that feeds the stove to the ground bus bar and neutral bar in the service panel, and also to the rod outside.
Isn't this gas stove plugged into a plain old 120 volt receptacle? What do you mean 4 wires?
And BTW, the sparkers can start sparking anytime any burner control is moved to the "Lite" position. All sparkers spark together and they don't care if the burner is already lit. At least this has been the case with the last three electronic gas ranges we've had.

Last edited by a7ecorsair; 02-18-2011 at 09:50 PM.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 10:02 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,838
Default

Ground connection


Did all the burner igniters s start sparking randomly or just on the burners being used?

Does the position of the knob affect whether random sparking happened?
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 07:32 AM   #34
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 24
Default

Ground connection


Good morning gents,

The stove is a combination gas top with electric ovens.
There is no plug, it is wired directly into junction box, which contains four wires (black, red, white, bare). The stove also has the same wiring.

All igniters spark when any burner is activated until flame is detected, which is a safety feature. But ocassionally, while already cooking, even if cooking on only one burner, they all (6) begin to spark by themselves.

How can I test for a bad ground besides continuity, which by itself has shown the ground is connected properly??
BTW, even the gas line coming in the stove shows properly grounded by itself.

Do grounding rods have to be copper or galvanized would do?

thanks

Last edited by frank otero; 02-19-2011 at 07:34 AM.
frank otero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 08:12 AM   #35
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Ground connection


Quote:
Originally Posted by frank otero View Post
Good morning gents,

The stove is a combination gas top with electric ovens.
There is no plug, it is wired directly into junction box, which contains four wires (black, red, white, bare). The stove also has the same wiring.

All igniters spark when any burner is activated until flame is detected, which is a safety feature. But ocassionally, while already cooking, even if cooking on only one burner, they all (6) begin to spark by themselves.

How can I test for a bad ground besides continuity, which by itself has shown the ground is connected properly??
BTW, even the gas line coming in the stove shows properly grounded by itself.

Do grounding rods have to be copper or galvanized would do?

thanks
Not that it matters, but now we know how the stove is wired. The ground rod doesn't come into play for the stove electronics.
Question: When it randomly starts sparking, how do you get it to stop?
Are you positive about the flame detectors and that they stop the sparking? If so, with one burner on and flame detected, how would you get the igniters to lite the next burner?
If it indeed does have a flame detector, then this area could be the cause of the false starts of the igniters. Does this flame detector turn off the gas if flame isn't detected within so many seconds?
Sounds like a pretty nice cooking unit. What brand and model is it?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 08:40 AM   #36
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 24
Default

Ground connection


Quote:
BTW, even the gas line coming in the stove shows properly grounded by itself.
It has a mind of its own and stops by itself after a few seconds
Quote:
Are you positive about the flame detectors and that they stop the sparking? If so, with one burner on and flame detected, how would you get the igniters to lite the next burner?
Yes, they stop sparking after ignition. I do not know how they know to spark for a second burner once another is already on.
Quote:
Does this flame detector turn off the gas if flame isn't detected within so many seconds?
I think it is meat to keep sparking (all of them), not sure about shutting off gas supply.

Electrolux Icon, 48", dual fuel, electric oven, 6 burners....my wife's baby

Thanks
frank otero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 09:07 AM   #37
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Ground connection


You mean this one???? http://www.ajmadison.com/cgi-bin/ajm...48DF76EPS.html
Let me know when the pie is done

Look at this:
  • 6 Sealed Burners with Auto Re-ignition
  • 2 - 8,500 BTU
  • 2 - 15,000 BTU
  • 2 - 17,000 BTU Power Burners
This would tell me that there is a flame sensor and that the igniters would start if they lost flame detection.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 09:20 AM   #38
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Ground connection


Look at this attachment
Attached Thumbnails
Ground connection-e-lux-burners.jpg  

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sub panel ground and neutral daddyrabbit Electrical 3 01-29-2010 06:49 AM
Sub Panel Main Lug Load Center - Single Phase ? Roy Rowlett Electrical 21 08-20-2009 06:55 PM
Older home -- Open Ground issues, please help Toyz Electrical 1 06-15-2008 08:41 AM
Hot Tub Install--Grounding Rod Question statgeek_rob Electrical 16 09-15-2007 02:59 AM
Ground rod blues!!! ra_doliv Electrical 8 09-02-2007 11:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.