Ground And Breaker Box - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2012, 09:44 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


Quote:
Do you still have metal pipe at the water service entrance?
Everything is in plastic except the pipe coming from the next appart basement (very not well separated, I can see through). I can see that the pipe continues in the other appart for a good while.

Advertisement

Olograph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 09:53 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
What he doesn't want to encourage is someone other than the home owner doing electrical work.
In some areas, this is not allowed even if you have the owners permission.
Yes this is a diy forum, but directed at the home owner and not tenets.
Truth is people are telling everything they want. I affirm that I'm saying the truth, you should address me as anyone on this forum, as I deserve.

Did other person had to show paperwork to be answered here? I think not.

Believe me or not, it's your business, but at least be polite, not like the other user.

I have full right to perform repairs in my appart, shall we continue?
Olograph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 09:55 PM   #18
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Olograph View Post
Everything is in plastic except the pipe coming from the next appart basement (very not well separated, I can see through). I can see that the pipe continues in the other appart for a good while.
Sounds like this is not a DIY fix, you will need an electrician.
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 09:56 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


Quote:
Sounds like this is not a DIY fix, you will need an electrician.
Even if I couldn't do it myself, I'd like to know what and how.
Thanks for the notice but I wouldn't be here if I'd consider referring to a specialist.

Last edited by Olograph; 09-10-2012 at 10:16 PM.
Olograph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 10:36 PM   #20
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Olograph View Post

Believe me or not, it's your business, but at least be polite, not like the other user.
Not that I care much at all, but please show me exactly where I was "impolite".
I know I can be, but this one stumps me.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 10:50 PM   #21
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


I did notice that all your loads are 240v, or larger.
If you don't mind where are you?
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 10:54 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


By implying I'm not in right of doing electrical tasks deciding not to help me and not explaining, but mostly for posting a million post then not helping at all.
If you have something discouraging to say, keep it to yourself. No need posting things such as, "I won't help you". Not helping anyone on earth.
Olograph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 10:55 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


Quote:
If you don't mind where are you?
Mexico.... joking. Canada.

The 40s are for the stove and the drier.

Last edited by Olograph; 09-10-2012 at 10:58 PM.
Olograph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:01 PM   #24
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Ground and Breaker Box




I know that Canada has a whole different set of codes.
Maybe someone can educate us both.
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:07 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


I think, the only code that has been used here is "cut to fit, paint to match". Just by looking at the breaker box it shows there's no love put into it.
Olograph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 07:13 AM   #26
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Olograph View Post
By implying I'm not in right of doing electrical tasks deciding not to help me and not explaining, but mostly for posting a million post then not helping at all.
If you have something discouraging to say, keep it to yourself. No need posting things such as, "I won't help you". Not helping anyone on earth.
WOW! So you got offended because I stood by my principles????
Simply amazing.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 01:29 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
WOW! So you got offended because I stood by my principles????
Simply amazing.
Does standing by your principles include treating others like pieces of doo doo?
Olograph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 02:41 PM   #28
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,222
Rewards Points: 2,354
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Olograph View Post
Does standing by your principles include treating others like pieces of doo doo?
I do not think SP treated you badly. But you sure are putting off other possibele responders with you snarky attitude.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (09-12-2012)
Old 09-11-2012, 09:37 PM   #29
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


Ok so fellow Canadian. Here's the rules here. A homeowner may pull a permit and or do work on their own home. Any other form must be performed by a licensed electrician. Anyone other than the homeowner pulling a permit must be a licensed electrical contractor with insurance with a masters license or have someone working for them with a masters license.

In this case or sounds like someone already went at the place who didn't have a license. How many units are there. What type of complex is it. The water pipe may have been the only ground if its old enough and you may need some serious electrical work done now.


For the record and not intending to be rude but legally you can't do this work no matter who's permission you have. Realistically if its an easy fix you'll likely get help here still though. Get back with the building type. That will tell the story of how big an issue this really is.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.

Last edited by andrew79; 09-11-2012 at 09:40 PM.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to andrew79 For This Useful Post:
Gac66610 (09-11-2012), Jim Port (09-12-2012)
Old 09-11-2012, 09:43 PM   #30
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


Also that panel is strange. I've seen one like it before. It looks more like its an old distribution board. You live in a renovated industrial space perchance?

Advertisement

__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.

Last edited by andrew79; 09-11-2012 at 11:22 PM.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50 Amps for a garage help IcyShadowz Electrical 48 05-31-2012 11:58 PM
Main Service Panel to 2 breaker panels - I can imagine you all rolling your eyes kalus Electrical 22 03-23-2012 03:09 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
240 volt load/appliance and ground vs neutral kgize Electrical 7 04-23-2010 12:40 AM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 07:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts