Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-10-2012, 07:01 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


Hello, recently I found that my phone NID ground wire was connected to nothing. It was connected to a metal pipe which was replaced by a plastic one. There was another unattached wire near the same pipe linked to the neutral of my breaker box.

It made me find that the ground bars of my breaker box are connected to nothing at all.

3 questions here.

1-What was the purpose of attaching the neutral and my other wire to the pipe?

2-What should I do now that the metal pipe's gone?

3-Why are the ground bars attached to nothing?

Here's some pictures of the breaker box.. it's a big mess. (The wire coming from the top is the one that was going on the pipe)




Olograph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 07:10 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


I can only assume that the neutral is properly bonded to the panel box. Hard to tell from the pics. THIS is your safety ground.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 07:40 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Huntsville, AL USA
Posts: 240
Rewards Points: 168
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


I think what he's saying, Petey, is that the box isn't bonded to anything.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olograph View Post
1-What was the purpose of attaching the neutral and my other wire to the pipe?
It references the system ground to actual earth, so that the grounded parts of your electrical system (including metal cases of appliances) can't float to a large potential above ground. (Well, not under most circumstances... )

Quote:
2-What should I do now that the metal pipe's gone?
Install a grounding rod and connect your electrical and phone grounds to it. Search through here; there's a lot of threads on grounding rods.
Quote:
3-Why are the ground bars attached to nothing?
They are actually bonded to the box itself. So is the bar where the service neutral and the grounding wire are connected. By that means, the ground path is conveyed from the circuit grounds to the system grounding wire.
fa_f3_20 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to fa_f3_20 For This Useful Post:
Olograph (09-10-2012)
Old 09-10-2012, 07:42 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,114
Rewards Points: 2,138
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


This looks like a sub panel as all I see are 2 pole breakers. You should have a 4 wire feed from the main and that is where the ground is connected. Is this panel in the same building as the meter?
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 07:54 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by fa_f3_20 View Post
It references the system ground to actual earth
System ground in this case being the neutral?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fa_f3_20 View Post
Install a grounding rod and connect your electrical and phone grounds to it.
I see no grounding rod yet nor inside or outside. Is this possible that it's done outside my property like near the pole? (So the neutral would connect to the ground outside?)
I just don't want to alarm the homeowner for nothing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fa_f3_20 View Post
They are actually bonded to the box itself. So is the bar where the service neutral and the grounding wire are connected. By that means, the ground path is conveyed from the circuit grounds to the system grounding wire.
So the ground bar is connected to the neutral bar via the breaker box case itself?

Thanks a lot by the way
Olograph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 07:59 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
This looks like a sub panel as all I see are 2 pole breakers. You should have a 4 wire feed from the main and that is where the ground is connected. Is this panel in the same building as the meter?
The meter is to the top left of this main box. The top-left wires are coming right from the meter.

This is the main panel, there's a second to the right with many switches. It's connected to the main by one of the switch..

I see only 6 breakers, which are which? Honestly what is a "pole" breaker, the black ones?
Olograph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:00 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Olograph View Post
I just don't want to alarm the homeowner for nothing.
HOLD UP!

Are you renting this place???
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:04 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


I am renting this place but I got full authorization of the owner regarding electrical, phone and cable configuration. Like as long as I put it back together before I leave.. I could drop a wall if I'd want to..

It makes the owner happy, cause at last there's someone taking care of these things. If you would've seen the basement when I arrived. Tons of nails, screws erupting from the wall and ceiling to pierce your eyes + a mega load of cables from the thousand cable and phone installation before, most of them cut off.

Last edited by Olograph; 09-10-2012 at 08:08 PM.
Olograph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:10 PM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


Regardless, I don't feel comfortable with this.
Good luck.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:13 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


Quote:
Regardless, I don't feel comfortable with this.
Good luck.
I wonder why, cause it's a DIY forum, not a professional licensed forum, what is it that you don't want to encourage???!?? and at the same time I don't care. Seriously man, why bother saying this anyways? Ahahah
Olograph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:24 PM   #11
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


In your first picture, at the top in front of the main breaker, is that a green screw? If it is that is bonding your grounds and neutrals together, through the case.
The wire exiting the panel out the top, did it go to your water pipe system?
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:29 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gac66610 View Post
The wire exiting the panel out the top, did it go to your water pipe system?
Yes it did
Olograph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:37 PM   #13
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


Do you still have metal pipe at the water service entrance?
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:38 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gac66610 View Post
is that a green screw?
Is that some kind of screw of codename or you wonder if the screw's actually green?. If you mean the screw to the right of the main breaker.. I assume it's the one of a different color.. it's definitely not silver like the others. Green, it's hard to say.
Olograph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 08:41 PM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,859
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Ground and Breaker Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Olograph View Post
I wonder why, cause it's a DIY forum, not a professional licensed forum, what is it that you don't want to encourage???!?? and at the same time I don't care. Seriously man, why bother saying this anyways? Ahahah
What he doesn't want to encourage is someone other than the home owner doing electrical work.
In some areas, this is not allowed even if you have the owners permission.
Yes this is a diy forum, but directed at the home owner and not tenets.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (09-12-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50 Amps for a garage help IcyShadowz Electrical 48 05-31-2012 10:58 PM
Main Service Panel to 2 breaker panels - I can imagine you all rolling your eyes kalus Electrical 22 03-23-2012 02:09 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
240 volt load/appliance and ground vs neutral kgize Electrical 7 04-22-2010 11:40 PM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 06:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.