Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-15-2008, 02:16 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

"Greenfield" conduit


Does the NEC allow "Greenfield" conduit to be used in commercial applications?

Thanks.
Goboomers

goboomers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 02:46 AM   #2
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

"Greenfield" conduit


If you mean flexible metal conduit, then yes, that's what it's made for.

It should go without saying, but a DIYer doing commercial wiring is, however, forbidden.


Last edited by Gigs; 11-15-2008 at 02:51 AM.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 07:48 AM   #3
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

"Greenfield" conduit


and there are a couple rules to using greenfield that are different than other metal conduits (emt, rmc)

conduit fill can also be different as well (your other thread) but 4 #8's will fit in 3/4 greenfield as well. Just curious, how do you end up with 4 #8's.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 08:45 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Default

"Greenfield" conduit


Gigs and Nap . . thanks.

Nap, It's for a Kitchen (home type) stove (oven with burners on top). I'm planning 40 amps, two hot wires, one neutral, one ground, all #8. No?
goboomers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 09:07 AM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

"Greenfield" conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by goboomers View Post
Gigs and Nap . . thanks.

Nap, It's for a Kitchen (home type) stove (oven with burners on top). I'm planning 40 amps, two hot wires, one neutral, one ground, all #8. No?
Aha! caught you. You are definately not an electrician. We are too cheap to use oversized ground conductors. You only need a #10 ground. (NEC table 250.122)

You can use a #8 if you want though, just not required.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 09:57 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Default

"Greenfield" conduit


Thanks, I appreciate the help. Great website!

Goboomers

goboomers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Use of unsheathed Romex NM-B wires in conduit? WoodworkerDave Electrical 10 09-29-2008 05:57 PM
Conduit Fill & Ampacity capndave Electrical 37 03-26-2008 02:16 PM
Conduit issues - help needed nymackem Electrical 19 11-05-2007 06:45 AM
Conduit through basement wall. bdalekid Electrical 13 01-31-2007 08:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.