Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-06-2009, 09:17 AM   #1

Share |

Green Goo

I noticed that on my wall outlets in the kitchen when I removed the pluged in appliance there was some green goo on the wall outlet and also on the appliance plug. Can someone tell where it might be coming from and what I can do to prevent it from coming back. I cleaned it off before. However I am not a rockect scientist but I am thinking liquids and electricty mix.

cocojen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 09:56 AM   #2
I have gas!

Green Goo

Could it be the pulling lube used by an electrician.
How old are the wiring and outlets?

I answered this question before on a different forum. The source is no longer available, however.

"In the manufacture of electric cables, they use plastic in the cable covers to make them flexible and easier to handle," explained Peter Lamond, the Electrical Safety Officer with the Department of Industrial Relations.

"The release of this green slimy substance comes from this plastic and tends to be set off by high ambient temperatures like those found in hotter climates, like in Queensland, and also in hot places like in walls and ceiling cavities."

Old 03-06-2009, 11:17 AM   #3

Green Goo

How old is the wiring and receptacle?
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 11:38 AM   #4
Res Ipsa Loquitur

Green Goo

Moisture and the copper wiring will result in green oxidation too- as well as lube and copper ox.
Old 03-06-2009, 12:13 PM   #5

Green Goo

I think the house is about 40+/- years old. It does have copper wiring. Our toaster oven and coffee pot are pluged in here. This is also next to the kitchen sink. As far as how old is the receptacle? I am not sure if we had changed this one out or not. If we did I dont recall why we would of other then it may have been broken. We reside in Southaven, MS.
Old 03-06-2009, 01:49 PM   #6