Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-23-2012, 07:10 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Share |
Default

Green Bonding Screw


In a new panel, I can't seem to find the location for the green grounding screw that's supposed to connect the neutral and grounding lug. According to the pic, seen here, it's in the center, but the screw provided won't thread there??

ALSO, without the screw in, both the neutral and ground bus are in continuity with one another, so I'm wondering the necessity of it??

sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 07:16 AM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Green Bonding Screw


Yes you need it and they are often times difficult to screw it. The threads are painted up or just a tad too small for the screw. It will (and needs) to be there assuming this is your main panel. If there is a disconnect before this panel, do not install the bonding screw.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (09-23-2012)
Old 09-23-2012, 07:26 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,782
Default

Green Bonding Screw


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
In a new panel, I can't seem to find the location for the green grounding screw that's supposed to connect the neutral and grounding lug. According to the pic, seen here, it's in the center, but the screw provided won't thread there??

ALSO, without the screw in, both the neutral and ground bus are in continuity with one another, so I'm wondering the necessity of it??
THat's exactly where it goes.


The reason for the bond is so that the panel box is bonded.
This way if you add another ground bar it is continuous with the neutral bar. Also, it is so that if you have any AC cables entering the panel they will also be bonded through the panel box itself.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (09-23-2012)
Old 09-23-2012, 07:28 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Green Bonding Screw


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Yes you need it and they are often times difficult to screw it. The threads are painted up or just a tad too small for the screw. It will (and needs) to be there assuming this is your main panel. If there is a disconnect before this panel, do not install the bonding screw.
Thanks, k_buz. It's a Main (not a sub panel).

What about the fact that without the screw, I find continuity between the neutral and the panel (ground bar); I purchased the PK15GTAground bar.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 07:31 AM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Green Bonding Screw


I'm going to assume the pic you posted is of your panel. Thus I am going to assume that you are reading continuity because the screw is touching the panel, but not screwed in. It needs to be screwed in.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (09-23-2012)
Old 09-23-2012, 07:34 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Green Bonding Screw


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I'm going to assume the pic you posted is of your panel. Thus I am going to assume that you are reading continuity because the screw is touching the panel, but not screwed in. It needs to be screwed in.
This is, indeed, my panel. But, it came with the screw out (not installed at all). And, I used an ohmmeter to check between the neutral and the case, and the ohmmeter goes full scale, and beeps, indicating shorted (continuity).
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 07:37 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Green Bonding Screw


Those panels have like a metallic tape over the hole that the screw goes in so, in case you're using it as a sub, the hole will be sealed.

You need to push the screw in , sometimes pretty hard, to break through the tape, then screw it in.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to wirenut1110 For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (09-23-2012)
Old 09-23-2012, 07:51 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Green Bonding Screw


There ain't no metallic tape over the hole, at least not on the front part. And the green ground screw that came with the panel will go all the way in without threading onto anything. What am I missing here?
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 07:58 AM   #9
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 222
Default

Green Bonding Screw


Some panels tell you to install screw before you mount panel because they can bottom out against whatever you mounted it to. Loosen your panel and try again
Dierte is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Dierte For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (09-23-2012)
Old 09-23-2012, 08:07 AM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Green Bonding Screw


I'm telling ya bud, there's is something on the back side of where the screw is that keeps you from being able to screw the screw all the way in unless you push really hard or tap your screwdriver to break through this "seal"
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to wirenut1110 For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (09-23-2012)
Old 09-23-2012, 08:10 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Green Bonding Screw


alrighty, guys, I'll give it a try and see what's what. Thanks for the help.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 08:11 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Green Bonding Screw


I'd STILL like to know WHY the continuity between neutral and ground bars WITHOUT the screw in there.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 08:17 AM   #13
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Green Bonding Screw


All those bars are connected at the top of the panel. They are all neutral bars (although grounds do go there in a main panel). We might be able to help you more with your question if you describe where you were metering.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (09-23-2012)
Old 09-23-2012, 08:30 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

Green Bonding Screw


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
All those bars are connected at the top of the panel. They are all neutral bars (although grounds do go there in a main panel). We might be able to help you more with your question if you describe where you were metering.
PLEASE NOTE THAT THE GREEN SCREW IS NOT IN THAT HOLE

sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 08:34 AM   #15
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Green Bonding Screw


If the bonding screw was not installed and you metered it as it is pictured (without any wires), there is no way you would have continuity.

Reading your picture again, you state that all these places show 0 Ohms...where exactly do you show continuity?

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (09-23-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do screw heads really need to be mudded with three coats? KUIPORNG Remodeling 33 09-17-2011 01:54 AM
connecting ground wire to green gound screw sco Electrical 0 09-22-2010 05:43 PM
Bonding Screw Nitwit Electrical 10 08-29-2010 05:11 PM
Can't get set screw in TP holder loose janralix Plumbing 4 08-12-2009 10:47 PM
Which bonding method proper??? Nestor Electrical 2 09-15-2006 06:18 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.