Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-17-2008, 08:08 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

gounding requirements in shed


I had a shed close to the house that was wired to the main house. I relocated the shed about 300 feet from the house. I left all the electrical wiring inside the shed intact and just clipped the wire where it entered the shed.

I came across a solar kit at Amazon and decided to try it out for powering the shed. Where I had clipped the wire, I attached a male plug and just plugged it into the inverter from the solar kit. Everything is working just fine but I am concerned that there is nothing running to ground on the whole system.

The charge controller has a grounding screw on it and I was thinking that would be the logical point to ground the system. Any help on what I should do to ground the system would be appreciated.

Brian

bmcmahon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 08:36 AM   #2
Master Of Nothing
 
mr500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gounding requirements in shed


How many wires did u CLIP when you moved the shed? should have been 4. 2 hots, 1 neutral and 1 equipment ground. How big is the breaker feeding this shed?

Since it is detached, it should have a gnd rod buried 8 ft. Then attached to that is a clamp rated for direct burial. You then run a gnd wire from the gnd buss, out to this clamp/rod. Also your ground and neutral must be separated. they cant be on the same buss in the shed. Hope this helps for starters.

__________________
Im Not An Electrician...But I Did Stay At A Holiday Inn Express Last Night!!
mr500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 09:24 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

gounding requirements in shed


The cable I clipped had only 3 wires. Two were coated (a black and a white) and the other was uncoated.

I connected these to a heavy duty 3 prong plug just as if it were the cord on a light. I plugged this into the inverter from the solar kit and bingo -- the lights in the shed worked. The outlets in the shed worked. The outside lights on the shed worked.

For the most part, the inverter is off. I turn it on as needed. The charge controller also allows me to run low voltage lights at night which come on automatically at dusk.

I was thinking I'd drive a ground rod in and connect a ground wire from the rod to the grounding screw in the charge controller. I don't know what you mean by ground buss (there is no electrical panel in the shed). Nor do I know what you mean by "your ground and neutral must be separated." Could you clarify? Thanks.

Brian
bmcmahon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
running uf to shed bobo60 Electrical 12 04-20-2008 01:41 PM
expanding existing concrete pad for shed lz300 Building & Construction 1 04-06-2008 08:20 PM
Shed Wiring bcdal Electrical 12 03-26-2008 04:51 PM
Subpanel to Shed - Check my plan NateHanson Electrical 9 04-26-2007 09:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.