Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-28-2012, 11:00 AM   #1
Member
 
PPBART's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Gotta replace 12-2WG NM-B underground


About 10 years ago we had an above-ground pool installed for the grandkids. When the pool was installed, the contractor ran power from GF breaker in an existing auxiliary panel on my house thru about 75' of buried 1/2" PVC conduit to a receptacle mounted in a weatherproof PVC box that stuck up above ground about 12" next to the pump base. The pool reached the end of it's usable life last year and we demolished it, but I left the electrical service in place. It looked kinda odd to have a receptacle box sticking up in the middle of the yard, but it was sometimes useful.

Recently I decided to extend that electrical service to provide power to what is essentially a gazebo we've constructed on the previous pool site. Based on advice/info gathered here, I assumed I could splice onto the original wire and extend it the short distance needed. I bought the splice kit and prepared to install it, but when I pulled the old receptacle out I discovered that the contractor had wired it with 12-2WG NM-B.

So, I'm faced with the choice of pulling new wire thru the conduit (if possible) or abandoning the old service, digging a new trench and running UF. My first choice is to try pulling the old NM-B out and new wire in. Assuming the old cable comes out, should I try to pull a 12-2WG THWN or UF cable, or would three #12 conductors be easier?

Again, it's about 75' thru 1/2" PVC, one 90 below ground under the panel. I haven't tried anything yet -- here in southeast Louisiana today we're marking time waiting for Hurricane Isaac to arrive -- but the conduit seems to be in good shape.





.

PPBART is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 11:10 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 2,041
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

Gotta replace 12-2WG NM-B underground


Pull three 12g THWN IMO assuming the conduit is at proper burial depth for your local code.

bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 11:19 AM   #3
Member
 
PPBART's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Gotta replace 12-2WG NM-B underground


Quote:
Originally Posted by bob22 View Post
...assuming the conduit is at proper burial depth...
That's another question mark now... guess I should at least try digging down to verify its depth.
PPBART is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 11:19 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 823
Rewards Points: 698
Default

Gotta replace 12-2WG NM-B underground


You have many options.

  1. Cut conduit back near the outlet and then continue the run of underground conduit to the new location. I assume not having to dig the 75' might be highly desirable so even if it is a bit crazy routing the last few feet so what. Your back with thank you. Once conduit done then pull new wires in conduit (THWN wire is all you need) don't waste money on UF cable if you have conduit.
  2. Install a underground splice box at the same location and continue the conduit run from there. The top will need to be accessible but at least flush to ground. Continue wire run from this point on.
  3. Use a UF underground splice kit and extend the UF wire to the new point of use. No need for conduit as UF is direct burial. http://solutions.3m.com/wps/portal/3...&sorttype=list
  4. Same as 3 but use conduit for rest of run. Bury splice in C style conduit body used to splice conduit and to locate buried splice underground. http://www.grainger.com/Grainger/CAN...uit-Body-4FYP5
curiousB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 11:31 AM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,817
Rewards Points: 2,432
Default

Gotta replace 12-2WG NM-B underground


It will be much easier to pull in 3 conductors vs a cable assembly. Just cut the elbow off the conduit, add a coupling and extend the run.

Underground splice kits for cables can be buried without a box.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 12:49 PM   #6
Member
 
PPBART's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Gotta replace 12-2WG NM-B underground


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
It will be much easier to pull in 3 conductors vs a cable assembly...
OK, I'll do that.

Related question: Do I have to use black, white and green colored wires? I have most of a 500' spool (maybe 400') of black #12. Can I just use three pieces of this and apply colored tape or in some other way indicate which is hot, neutral, etc.?
PPBART is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 12:58 PM   #7
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,166
Rewards Points: 2,242
Default

Gotta replace 12-2WG NM-B underground


Quote:
Originally Posted by PPBART View Post
OK, I'll do that.

Related question: Do I have to use black, white and green colored wires? I have most of a 500' spool (maybe 400') of black #12. Can I just use three pieces of this and apply colored tape or in some other way indicate which is hot, neutral, etc.?
Not and be code compliant.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (09-01-2012)
Old 09-01-2012, 07:59 PM   #8
Member
 
PPBART's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Gotta replace 12-2WG NM-B underground


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Not and be code compliant.
OK, thanks for clearing that up. I've seen it done in the past (marking wire in some way to indicate color) but obviously that doesn't count for much here & now... <G>

PPBART is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace just two windows - dumb idea? ChrisJJ Windows and Doors 13 06-01-2012 11:31 AM
Need advice-what needs correcting? What does replace all vents, metal flashings mean? MB1 Roofing/Siding 3 02-02-2012 10:10 AM
Fixable or gotta replace? Aloha1 Drywall & Plaster 8 01-07-2012 06:01 PM
awg size for 60' underground line from house to shed for 60 amp capslock Electrical 5 06-09-2010 11:31 AM
Underground service entrance cable requirements. kgt55 Electrical 9 06-22-2009 07:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.