Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2013, 10:42 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 109
Share |
Default

Got a easy one for y'all


I have a porch light and a flood light pretty close together but on different switches . I would like to get the flood light on the same switch as the porch light . Can I just cut the wires in the attic and wire nut them together or any suggestions ? Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Got a easy one for y'all-image.jpg  

Kpack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 10:44 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

Got a easy one for y'all


jumper wire from porch light "BOX" to the motion sensor "BOX" ....LOL

__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Philly Master For This Useful Post:
Kpack (11-10-2013)
Old 11-10-2013, 10:44 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,651
Default

Got a easy one for y'all


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kpack View Post
. Can I just cut the wires in the attic and wire nut them together or any suggestions ? Thanks
i don't see why not. make sure you use a junction box.
Fix'n it is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Fix'n it For This Useful Post:
Kpack (11-10-2013)
Old 11-10-2013, 10:45 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,514
Default

Got a easy one for y'all


Are the switches next to each other? It would be easier to make changes at the switches if so.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
brric (11-10-2013), Kpack (11-10-2013), k_buz (11-10-2013), stickboy1375 (11-10-2013)
Old 11-10-2013, 10:45 AM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

Got a easy one for y'all


If the switches are in the same box, then all you have to to is pigtail the switch legs to a single switch.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Kpack (11-10-2013)
Old 11-10-2013, 10:53 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

Got a easy one for y'all


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Are the switches next to each other? It would be easier to make changes at the switches if so.
Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
If the switches are in the same box, then all you have to to is pigtail the switch legs to a single switch.


LMAO ....good call !!!! like DUH ....
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Philly Master For This Useful Post:
Kpack (11-10-2013)
Old 11-10-2013, 12:16 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 109
Default

Got a easy one for y'all


The switches are not close to each other. That's the problem the switch for flood light is down by the back door we don't use. The porch light switch is by the door we use. I'll get some junction boxes and mark them . Thanks.
Kpack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 12:41 PM   #8
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,937
Default

Got a easy one for y'all


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kpack View Post
The switches are not close to each other. That's the problem the switch for flood light is down by the back door we don't use.
Who wired it like that?
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 04:05 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 109
Default

Got a easy one for y'all


It was wired that way when the house was built about 20 yrs ago by an elec contractor . There's a lot of switches by the door we use and the door to the left that's hard to see is in the wash room has the flood lights each end of the house and some other switches by it. If I had it to do over again I would have them wire it different but that's what I have.
Kpack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 04:06 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 109
Default

Got a easy one for y'all


Forgot the pic
Attached Thumbnails
Got a easy one for y'all-image.jpg  

Kpack is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick & Easy Curb Appeal Jim McClain Project Showcase 74 03-21-2014 07:50 AM
Easy Water conditioning system Pstein Plumbing 4 08-29-2010 07:29 AM
Is there an easy section to cut out one piece of a baseboard? abefroman Remodeling 2 07-28-2010 02:00 PM
Couple of easy (I think) questions... tigereye Electrical 2 03-01-2010 10:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.