Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-20-2008, 08:00 PM   #16
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Share |
Default

Gnd Buss


It is nice when we can get this good of information from the OP. This panel will take a TGK 12. You can put two grounds of the same size per hole. Largest ground wire the bar will accept is #4 awg.
As you probably know as Jrclen advised if you convert one of the neutral bars to a ground bar you could as you fill the panel up run out of holes for neutrals which can only have one per hole. The addition of the ground bar will allow connection points for all your grounds and you will only have to land your neutrals on the factory bars bonded by that strap. Remember once you install the ground bar you will not install that green screw just put it into your tool box drawer somewhere. Connect your feeder ground to the ground bar. Your feeder neutral to the right hand neutral bar lug. Do not remove the strap between the two bars.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by Stubbie; 03-20-2008 at 08:29 PM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008, 08:21 PM   #17
Master Of Nothing
 
mr500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 141
Default

Gnd Buss


So on a tgk12 I can land 2 grounds under one screw? NOT that i will need too though. And I assume that the tgk24 will be a 24 screw buss then. Duhh i know lol

My feeder ground is #6 so im good to go i THINK lol

Gotcha its a done deal now. I got the rest under my belt I do believe!!

Thanks

Mike
__________________
Im Not An Electrician...But I Did Stay At A Holiday Inn Express Last Night!!

Last edited by mr500; 03-20-2008 at 08:32 PM.
mr500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008, 08:38 PM   #18
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Gnd Buss


Yes if you read the cover sheet on the panel door it will give you this information. 2 per hole but they must be the same size in awg. One neutral only in the holes of the neutral bars. Your panel is located here on page 9 fourth one up from the bottom of the page don't look for the PL8 this has to do with the contractor pack. Just about everything you want to know on ge residential load centers is at this link including all accessories like grd kits, lugs, circuit breakers etc.......

http://www.geindustrial.com/catalog/buylog/01_BL.pdf

Last edited by Stubbie; 03-20-2008 at 08:43 PM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008, 08:47 PM   #19
Master Of Nothing
 
mr500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 141
Default

Gnd Buss


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Yes if you read the cover sheet on the panel door it will give you this information. 2 per hole but they must be the same size in awg. One neutral only in the holes of the neutral bars. Your panel is located here on page 9 fourth one up from the bottom of the page don't look for the PL8 this has to do with the contractor pack. Just about everything you want to know on ge residential load centers is at this link including all accessories like grd kits, lugs, circuit breakers etc.......

http://www.geindustrial.com/catalog/buylog/01_BL.pdf
THANKS. yeah looks like me all day. I scrolled down to the gnd buss's and it looks like the one I bought was a TGL2 type buss. the lugs slide up and down on the mounting flange kinda, untill you tighten in a wire. Ill go back and try find the TGK one. thanks sooooo much!!!!

Mike
__________________
Im Not An Electrician...But I Did Stay At A Holiday Inn Express Last Night!!
mr500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008, 10:10 PM   #20
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Gnd Buss


Mike they carry the TGK 12 at lowes in my area.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2008, 10:34 PM   #21
Master Of Nothing
 
mr500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 141
Default

Gnd Buss


Yes they do here as well. I found it. ive been shopping at HD cause I have a card there lol. and to my knowledge they dont carry it. all they have is this on...http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/...097+500361+780


I will hit lowes up for the 24 I think. Who knows one day I might need it lol.

http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?actio...2CP&lpage=none



Cant thank you enough for all your help. Im slowly learning!!

Mike
__________________
Im Not An Electrician...But I Did Stay At A Holiday Inn Express Last Night!!

Last edited by mr500; 03-20-2008 at 10:39 PM.
mr500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub Panel mr500 Electrical 25 03-10-2008 04:34 PM
Sub panel grounding sluggermike Electrical 27 11-11-2007 01:23 AM
Noob question for basement finish electrical dtmbizzle Electrical 16 07-11-2007 07:08 AM
HOT breakers, need advice.... Patriot_RAM Electrical 13 07-16-2006 10:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.