Gfis W Open Ground - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2010, 01:01 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 115
Rewards Points: 75
Default

gfis w open ground


per nec, does a gfi have to be grounded? I have one that has an open ground. Is the easiest fix tieing it onto a copper water pipe w a clamp? If not can someone tell me what is?
thanks

Advertisement

brokenhammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 07:32 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

gfis w open ground


Yes, a gfci can work without a ground.
No, you cannot just take a wire to the copper pipe.
Are the rest of the receptacles in the house ungrounded?

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 09:15 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

gfis w open ground


An ungrounded receptacle may be grounded by running a separate ground wire but that must go all the way to the panel where the hot wire was fed, or to the ground rod or to the (typically #6) wire that connects the former two.

There was an argument on another thread on this forum on how to ground a second ungrounded receptacle but what I gathered is that a separate ground wire from the second can be tied to the separate ground wire of the first when both are on the same branch circuit.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 03-24-2010 at 09:18 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 09:37 AM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,978
Rewards Points: 2,212
Default

gfis w open ground


If you can get enough access to run a separate ground wire as described, there is no reason not to run a new branch circuit cable to the oulet instead.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 01:29 PM
Want to use a pulley /counter weight to open metal hatch door to cellar MACrowley Building & Construction 4 02-22-2010 06:41 PM
Bonding Ground in Conduit jamiedolan Electrical 5 01-26-2010 11:14 PM
Temporary Genrator Ground theatretch85 Electrical 32 08-05-2008 01:05 PM
Grounding VS Bonding BillyD Electrical 24 06-22-2008 01:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts