Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 06-26-2013, 02:03 PM   #1

Share |

GFI's randomly tripping

Hey all,

Sorry for the long initial post, but I'm trying to be as descriptive as possible.

We recently bought a new house in November and am experiencing some electrical anomalies that I could really use some advice on. I am not an electrician but have experience with electronics and circuits for controller boards and such.

It seems that every day, a few of our GFI plugs trip at random intervals. These could be in the kitchen, garage, master bath, laundry, wherever. Every day it's a walk through to see which ones have tripped. I have just started really auditing this, but believe that the ones that do trip do have loads on them. Just this morning my garage door opener tripped at some point last night, nothing else on that circuit I believe and it obviously wasn't used during the night.

Here's the kicker: I do a lot of work with casting and molding materials in my garage so I installed a 2 ton residential AC unit there with the help from my brother (a licensed HVAC tech) to obtain climate control for the materials I work with. We installed a 30A breaker in the main panel below where the existing compressor 30 is (two hot's and a ground back to the compressor) AND we installed a separate 20A circuit in the sub panel for the blower unit to plug into. Since I've done this work, I'm hesitant to call the builder yet since they could consider the work I've done a void to our home warranty.

I have installed a bit of shelving in the garage and don't believe I've screwed into any wiring (not sure if that would even cause this problem).