Gfic For Kichen Needed? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2011, 11:37 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

gfic for kichen needed?


do i need gfic for outlets on both sides of kitchen sink thx

Advertisement

doctordog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 11:42 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,360
Rewards Points: 3,514
Blog Entries: 4
Default

gfic for kichen needed?


If this is new work then yes. If this is existing then it could be grandfathered and not required until the electric is updated.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 11:47 AM   #3
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,634
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

gfic for kichen needed?


Not sure what a gfic is but your kitchen, since it is a wet area at times should have a ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI) outlet at the start of the circuit installed. Good ones run under $15 these days even if you pay retail. The GFCI will protect all other things ahead of it on the circuit.

Hopefully your frig and microwave are on a different circuit.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 11:54 AM   #4
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

gfic for kichen needed?


Not necessarily GFCI receptacles, but GFCI protected receptacles. In a dwelling, all receptacles that serve the kitchen countertops have to be GFCI protected, whether next to a sink or not. You can do this by a GFCI breaker for that circuit, or by a GFCI receptacle that protects itself and other receptacles down line (daisy chaining).

As Joe mentioned, new work yes, existing grandfathered. Either way, it’s the best idea to have them.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 11:57 AM   #5
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

gfic for kichen needed?


Quote:
Originally Posted by sdsester View Post
...The GFCI will protect all other things ahead of it on the circuit...
Oops...you got that backwards. Doesn't protect anything ahead of it, protects things after it.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 12:24 PM   #6
Too Short? Cut it Again!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 9,634
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

gfic for kichen needed?


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
Oops...you got that backwards. Doesn't protect anything ahead of it, protects things after it.
oops. typed too fast. You are right of course.
user1007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 09:39 PM   #7
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

gfic for kichen needed?


Any outlet withing 6 feet of the edge of the sink requires GFCI protection.

Advertisement

Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Missouri Bound For This Useful Post:
doctordog (05-18-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building a 20' x 20' wood frame garage bgbrown125 Building & Construction 38 08-07-2011 02:53 PM
Combustable air, how much is needed? Lee Roy HVAC 9 10-27-2010 11:17 PM
hardwired doorbells and GFIC BlueBSH Electrical 5 07-30-2010 02:32 PM
Wire Needed for GF / Arc Fault breaker jamiedolan Electrical 13 09-20-2009 09:15 AM
Placement of GFIC allen1466 Electrical 3 03-24-2006 09:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts