Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-03-2008, 10:02 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

GFIC / Grounds


Okay. Just bought a 'new' old house. Not surprisingly a lot of the outlets either don't have GFCIs or are not grounded. I fancy myself fairly handy, but I don't really get the electricity thing. How can I test and ground these outlets? What is my best bet?

pearlbeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 10:42 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,566
Default

GFIC / Grounds


I wouldn't add ground wires unless you have a specific need for it. Most houshold electrical appliances and devices don't need a ground. You only need the ground if the device you are using has a grounded plug (3 prongs). If you find you have a device that needs a ground you will generally only use it in one outlet. Since you don't get the electricity thing you should hire an electrician to install a ground in that outlet (or find a trusted friend who does get the electricity thing).

GFCIs are usually not required in an old house but if you feel the need for one in a specific location (like kitchen, bath or garage) they can be installed even without a ground wire. They must be labeled as such. Again, you would want someone who knows what they are doing to install it.

jogr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 11:20 AM   #3
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

GFIC / Grounds


Quote:
Originally Posted by pearlbeer View Post
How can I test and ground these outlets?
A receptacle tester can be used to see if the receptacles are wired correctly and help you determine if a ground is present. It will also help identify if there are other problems in the circuit. They simply plug in and light up a certain way to indicate correct wiring, and other ways to indicate incorrect wiring. They're $15 or less, and are a good thing to have around.

If you don't have any electrical experience or a good understanding of how it works, I'd strongly advise against trying to do your electrical work yourself. Improper grounding or wiring methods cause shocks and potentially fires. Electrical is one trade that you don't want to learn by your mistakes.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 01:11 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

GFIC / Grounds


You can do two things. Leave the receptacles like they are, or pull new NM throughout the house. All grounds (EGC's) must return to the service panel or sub panel.
They do make adapters for this purpose, but I do not like them. They will allow you to plug in a three prong plug, but no ground will exist.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 01:22 PM   #5
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

GFIC / Grounds


i too had ONE line in this house that had only two wires. (dunno why the guy did that.) the inspector told me there are only two things to do.
A: leave it installed with the two prong only outlet, (no ground hole) or
B: put in a GFIC outlet. either would pass code. (i just left the two prong, it's in a spot we never use anyways)

DM
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 02:40 PM   #6
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 751
Default

GFIC / Grounds


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
They do make adapters for this purpose, but I do not like them. They will allow you to plug in a three prong plug, but no ground will exist.
Two-to-three cheaters, we call them.

__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Underwater pump knocks out GFIC switch Ronnie1a Electrical 6 08-28-2008 12:14 PM
GFIC plug acting up Ronnie1a Electrical 1 01-19-2008 12:10 PM
Wiring a subpanel bigbassg Electrical 14 07-01-2007 01:53 PM
Did I screw up wiring this outlet? josquin Electrical 6 06-28-2007 02:39 PM
Placement of GFIC allen1466 Electrical 3 03-24-2006 08:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.