Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-24-2011, 06:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

gfi wire size


If a bathroom has a 20 amp breaker can you use 14 wire and have a 15 amp gfi that says 15 amp 125 v 20 amp feed thru.

julie112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 06:48 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,783
Default

gfi wire size


No you can not.

brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
julie112 (05-24-2011)
Old 05-24-2011, 07:23 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Default

gfi wire size


just change the 20 amp breaker to 15 amp and you will be fine.
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 08:10 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

gfi wire size


Quote:
Originally Posted by julie112 View Post
If a bathroom has a 20 amp breaker can you use 14 wire and have a 15 amp gfi that says 15 amp 125 v 20 amp feed thru.
I don't get it. How does the bathroom have a breaker? Do you mean the circuit is already run? Why are you asking "can you use..."? Are you planning new work, or asking about existing?

These are valid questions since bathrooms used to be able to have 15A circuits for receptacles, but no longer.

Either way, NO, you CANNOT have #14 on a 20A breaker.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ground Location and Wire Size LHB_Texas Electrical 25 05-27-2011 09:38 AM
wire size for 160' feeder to subpanel steveski Electrical 3 05-21-2011 09:41 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Wire size and Breaker size for remodel ?? Skydmark1 Electrical 12 12-15-2007 05:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.