Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-09-2011, 04:42 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

GFI question


Hello all,

I have been having a problem with no power to 2 outlets in my kitchen and was told to look for a GFI outlet. I did find a GFI outlet and reset it but the 2 outlets in question on the same wall of the kitchen where the GFI outlet is still do not work after I reset it. The GFI outlet is working fine as I have a lamp plugged in there with an extension cord for my microwave oven. I found the circuit breaker in the panel for the GFI outlet and reset that. Again, the GFI went off then came back on after I reset the breaker but the 2 outlets in question still do not have power. What do you think might be the problem? Could the GFI still be malfunctioning? I am not sure what to try to test at this point.

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Glenn
Partsman41953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 06:25 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,114
Default

GFI question


Older house?? Code requires two 20A GFCI protected dedicated circuits for countertop outlets. (1) The outlets in question may not be on the same circuit as your working GFCI, look for another GFCI. (2), They could be on the same circuit, but have a loose wire in the chain, which could ba a hot or neutral anywhere in the chain. (3) Older house may not have two circuits, may share loads with other things, but the culprit could still be a loose connection. Backstab outlets are a continuing problem in older houses. The backstab contacts loosen over time and eventually don't work.
Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2011, 08:36 AM   #3
Member
 
rditz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lindsay, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 271
Default

GFI question


do you have any other breakers in the panel for the kitchen??

when you press the TEST button on the GFI, do any other outlets go dead?? I would first, pull the GFI outlet and see if there are wires connected to the LOAD side of it. As mentioned above, there may be a loose wire.

then I would pull the non-working outlets and check for connections and power. Are these splits??

I like to use a pencil tester to check for power...

rod
rditz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DRIcore question trailblazer1229 Flooring 0 02-24-2010 09:25 AM
3 Phase meter socket question a320200 Electrical 4 12-11-2009 12:45 AM
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 08:24 PM
A question about water preassure. reasonforseason Plumbing 5 04-14-2009 04:36 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.