Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-23-2008, 01:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

GFI outlets and power ?


New here and have an Electrical problem in one of my apartments. I'll try my best to break it down for ya.

2 outlets above the sink counter. One has a GFI. Microwave was plugged into the non-GFi outlet and quit working. Plugged Micro in another outlet and worked fine. The little light on the GFI is not green or yellow or anything. I pulled both outlets out and checked the outlets with a tester and there is no power to either outlets. I put the testers on the wires directly and nothing. I checked the breaker to the outlets and I have power to the main breaker, it's not tripping the main breaker, and if I push to reset the GFI still nothing. I'm kind of confused on this any suggestions? Is the GFI bad and cutting the current. If I change out the GFI will it fix it? I still figure that I should still have power to the wires regardless even if the GFI is bad... hmmm

CALDWELLAPARTMENTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 01:47 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Default

GFI outlets and power ?


You are correct that if the breaker serving the GFI is putting out power then you should have power to the line side of the GFI - as long as it's a straight shot.

Could there be another GFI installed between the breaker and the GFI that you're looking at?

williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 05:23 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

GFI outlets and power ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by CALDWELLAPARTMENTS View Post
2 outlets above the sink counter. One has a GFI. Microwave was plugged into the non-GFi outlet and quit working. Plugged Micro in another outlet and worked fine.
"Non GFI" outlet may be downstream of, and fed by, GFI and not labelled as GFI protected.

The little light on the GFI is not green or yellow or anything. I pulled both outlets out and checked the outlets with a tester and there is no power to either outlets. I put the testers on the wires directly
If the wires feeding the GFI read zero the problem is upstream.

and nothing. I checked the breaker to the outlets and I have power to the main breaker, it's not tripping the main breaker, and if I push to reset the GFI still nothing.
So it sounds like the GFI failed to an open state.

I'm kind of confused on this any suggestions? Is the GFI bad and cutting the current. If I change out the GFI will it fix it?
You could turn off the breaker that feeds this circuit, bypass the GFI terminals with insulated jumper wires, and see if this restores power to the downstream outlet fed by the GFI [if you have one] when the breaker is switched on.

I still figure that I should still have power to the wires regardless even if the GFI is bad... hmmm
To the upstream wires feeding the GFI, yes.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX XXXXXX
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 05:32 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 33
Default

GFI outlets and power ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by williswires View Post
You are correct that if the breaker serving the GFI is putting out power then you should have power to the line side of the GFI - as long as it's a straight shot.

Could there be another GFI installed between the breaker and the GFI that you're looking at?
Just wanted to add to be sure and check the neutral connection on that circut.

Jeff
ElectricianJeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
outlets work, but barely (?) joeyboy Electrical 7 08-27-2008 08:37 AM
Power to outlets but not enough? batesrt Electrical 5 02-04-2008 09:12 PM
outlets lost power Hoegy Electrical 5 11-06-2007 02:06 PM
Wiring for switched, split power outlets ELurie Electrical 9 06-21-2007 07:12 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.