Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-26-2009, 08:13 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Default

GFI outlet trips when it rains


I'm gonna go out on a limb. This is a far out theory, but still possible. Maybe there is an open [mechanical] joint somewhere and moisture seeps in around one of the outlets downstream (of the GFI recept.) That could cause for leakage current to be present and trip the device!!! for not finding the problem!!!

spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2009, 08:35 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Default

GFI outlet trips when it rains


Since you mentioned in one of the "back-and-forths" that ALL the connections to the lights and outlets are underneath the house, there's one possibly strong source for the problem. Unless the wires are in moisture proof conduit and the joints are protected against wetness, there could be conductivity to GROUND. I can tell you from personal experience that there is significant moisture in that location even when it doesn't rain!!!now! later!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 11:47 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GFI outlet trips when it rains


After a rain you might be able to find the leakage to ground with an ordinary ohmmeter. Let's say a passing value is >1 megohm.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 12:08 PM   #19
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,842
Rewards Points: 2,478
Blog Entries: 4
Default

GFI outlet trips when it rains


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
After a rain you might be able to find the leakage to ground with an ordinary ohmmeter. Let's say a passing value is >1 megohm.
Actually I think from past testing you need a value of 3-4 megohms.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 12:45 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GFI outlet trips when it rains


"all outlets were replaced"

including the GFCI outlet?

I'd also replace the cover with an in use wet cover - the bubble type
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 01:19 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GFI outlet trips when it rains


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Actually I think from past testing you need a value of 3-4 megohms.
OK, pass is >4 MΩ, fail is <30kΩ.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 05:05 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFI outlet trips when it rains


I have a similar problem.

In our 8 month old house we have a GFI outlet in our garage that popped last night. I removed all items plugged into the outlets on that circuit and still it pops. I replaced the GFI (hoping it was bad) and the new GFI pops.

Would it make sense to jumper around the GFI and then test each outlet? Will this help me locate the general area where the problem exists?

I am also calling the builder but I am hopeful I could fix it myself.

Any suggestions?
cmlyki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 10:00 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFI outlet trips when it rains


I see this thread is old, but for future when trying to isolate problems similar, you can save time by disconnecting in the general center of the circuit, determine if problem is upstream or down, then go to the next center of where you determined the problem is etc etc. just a tip, instead of starting at one end, begin in the middle.
To the new poster, is there possibly another gfi on that circuit? If a gfi is on an already protected gfi circuit they can trip eachother. Or so i have been taught.
Dont mean to question your ability because i dont know you, but how sure are you that you put the wires on the correct terminals on the new plug? There is a line and a load side. Make sure the correct orientation with where feed and load goes on the new gfi.

Marc05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Marc05 For This Useful Post:
PaliBob (11-01-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
What did i do wrong? - Outlet install trips breaker nymex Electrical 22 05-07-2009 02:44 PM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 09:05 PM
Wiring a switch, power from outlet Big Bill Electrical 4 09-15-2007 03:59 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.