Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2013, 10:53 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

GFI Outlet Problem


I have a single, standard outlet in each of two bathrooms, protected by a GFI outlet in the kitchen.

Both bathroom outlets are dead; however, the GFI outlet in the kitchen works fine.

Any ideas? Is it possible the GFI is bad, past the point of it's own outlet? The home is 15 years old and this is the original outlet. All other electrical work functions properly.

Thanks in advance.

RoyceEdwards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 11:24 AM   #2
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,865
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFI Outlet Problem


Very likely AFAIK......I really don't know the internal circutry of a GFI.... but they do fail very often.... and at $10.... that would be my very first test/replacement.

__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 11:41 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Albany, GA
Posts: 295
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFI Outlet Problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyceEdwards View Post
I have a single, standard outlet in each of two bathrooms, protected by a GFI outlet in the kitchen.

Both bathroom outlets are dead; however, the GFI outlet in the kitchen works fine.

Any ideas? Is it possible the GFI is bad, past the point of it's own outlet? The home is 15 years old and this is the original outlet. All other electrical work functions properly.

Thanks in advance.

The test function of the kitchen GFCI still works OK? If it does, you might have something as simple a failed connection on the load side of the GFCI. Shut of the power to the circuit and open up the device box for the GFCI and check your connections. If the connections look OK there, check the connections on the devices in the bathrooms.

You can also power on the circuit and measure voltage between the hot and neutral on the line side of the GFCI to see if the device is passing power through.

All else fails, replace the GFCI.
clashley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 11:49 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFI Outlet Problem


Yes, the test function works so the entire GFI outlet appears to work fine. It's just the two outlets past that do not work.

Thanks, I'll give what you suggested a try.
RoyceEdwards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 11:59 AM   #5
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,865
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFI Outlet Problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by clashley View Post
the test function of the kitchen gfci still works ok? If it does, you might have something as simple a failed connection on the load side of the gfci. Shut of the power to the circuit and open up the device box for the gfci and check your connections. If the connections look ok there, check the connections on the devices in the bathrooms.

You can also power on the circuit and measure voltage between the hot and neutral on the line side of the gfci to see if the device is passing power through.

All else fails, replace the gfci.
load????
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 12:01 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFI Outlet Problem


check for voltage on the load side of the GFI on older GFI s it was possible that the outlet would work but not feed downstreem this has been corrected on newer ones if the GFI fails it wont work at all.
usair is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to usair For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (05-11-2013)
Old 05-11-2013, 12:10 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFI Outlet Problem


Hey everyone, thanks for the info. I'm a homeowner who has done electrical work in the past, so I know how to take precautions, like flip off the breaker.

I don't have anything to do a test with, so I'm just going to replace the GFCI outlet figuring that I'll probably need to do that at the end of testing.

If that doesn't work I'll turn the problem over to a licensed electrician.

Thanks again for all the help.

RoyceEdwards is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gfi


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rewire a switch that controls an outlet. z00ropa Electrical 8 10-23-2012 06:00 PM
Outlet problem splinter2 Electrical 3 06-08-2012 09:23 PM
Outlet before light switch; Open Neutral? Fox Electrical 21 09-26-2010 08:38 PM
outlet problem hokie_engineer Electrical 13 03-18-2010 03:55 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.