GFI Outlet Bathrooms - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2014, 09:22 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 81
Default

GFI Outlet Bathrooms


I have 2 bathrooms that are back to back. I want to add a dedicated GFI to each of them. I am in the middle of gutting the 1 bathroom, so the drywall is removed on 1 side of the wall giving me access to the wall cavity. My question is can I run a 12 guage 3-wire from the panel to a junction box in the attic. Then, dropping the wire down through the wall, use the black wire for 1 GFI; the red wire for the other GFI; then tie the neutrals and grounds together in the junction box? Back at the panel, the black and red would each get its own 20A circuit breaker.

Advertisement

cougar01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 09:50 PM   #2
.
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 125
Rewards Points: 248
Default

GFI Outlet Bathrooms


Yes but you have a couple of considerations. One is that they will need to be on different phases so the nuetral does not get overloaded. Another would be if you need to make it compliant with the current electrical code then the breaker handles will need to be tied together.

Advertisement

Jake. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 09:54 PM   #3
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,233
Rewards Points: 2,376
Default

GFI Outlet Bathrooms


You can do it that way but I would not use a jb in the attic. Drop the 3 wire from the panel into one nox and run a 3 wire to the other box.

Also, if no other receptacles or lights or fans will be on the circuit, you can use 1 circuit for both baths.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 10:04 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,977
Rewards Points: 2,210
Default

GFI Outlet Bathrooms


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
You can do it that way but I would not use a jb in the attic. Drop the 3 wire from the panel into one nox and run a 3 wire to the other box.

Also, if no other receptacles or lights or fans will be on the circuit, you can use 1 circuit for both baths.
Why would you run a three wire to the second box?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2014, 11:55 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,363
Rewards Points: 3,520
Blog Entries: 4
Default

GFI Outlet Bathrooms


You should also use a double pole breaker not two separate 20 amp breakers.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 06:57 AM   #6
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,233
Rewards Points: 2,376
Default

GFI Outlet Bathrooms


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Why would you run a three wire to the second box?
Senior brain fart. 2 wire to the second box.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 07:25 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 81
Default

GFI Outlet Bathrooms


Thanks for the responses. I considered only using 1 circuit for both outlets, but wanted to avoid having to walk down the hallway to the other bathroom to reset the GFCI.
cougar01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2014, 07:42 PM   #8
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,233
Rewards Points: 2,376
Default

GFI Outlet Bathrooms


Quote:
Originally Posted by cougar01 View Post
Thanks for the responses. I considered only using 1 circuit for both outlets, but wanted to avoid having to walk down the hallway to the other bathroom to reset the GFCI.
How many times have you tripped a bathroom (or kitchen) GFCI? I have lived in this house for 9 years and have never tripped one. 7 years in the previous house and 20 in the one before that- never once. The house before that did not have GFCI.

Outside GFCI's are another story.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 02:11 AM   #9
.
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 125
Rewards Points: 248
Default

GFI Outlet Bathrooms


You dont have to tie both receptacles to one GFCI either. You can put the HR AND the power out to the other bath on the line side of the first GFCI receptacle and just put in another receptacle in the other bath.
Jake. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jake. For This Useful Post:
rjniles (10-03-2014)
Old 10-03-2014, 06:49 AM   #10
Banned Electrician
 
HARRY304E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: MA, Master Electrician
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 180
Default

GFI Outlet Bathrooms


Quote:
Originally Posted by cougar01 View Post
Thanks for the responses. I considered only using 1 circuit for both outlets, but wanted to avoid having to walk down the hallway to the other bathroom to reset the GFCI.
Run one circuit, with the money you saved on wire you can just used two GFCI receptacles , splice through the first box and pig tail that GFCI so it does not trip the GFCI in the other bathroom.

Advertisement

__________________
"Government is not the solution to our problem; Government is the problem."
HARRY304E is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFI outlet won't reset; voltage at lower terminals--bad outlet? jbeall Electrical 2 06-07-2013 09:52 PM
Dual Voltage Combination Outlet Perry401 Electrical 6 04-12-2013 06:34 AM
Odd Fireplace Outlet Behavior permagrin Electrical 2 12-17-2011 09:06 AM
small secondary countertop outlet issue rasz Electrical 8 11-07-2011 05:14 PM
Outlet not working, reading "open ground" syren Electrical 3 04-19-2010 05:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts