GFI Outlet In Bathroom - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2014, 04:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Question

GFI outlet in bathroom


I have a home built in the 90's. The bathroom outlets themselves are not GFI but they are tied to a GFI circuit that has the GFI outlet in the garage. I guess that's how they did it back then.
I'm replacing the standard outlet in the bathroom and I don't know if I can/should install a GFI outlet in that bathroom with it already tied to a GFI circuit from the garage? Is it bad to have it doubled up like that?
Thanks for any advice.

Advertisement

joregon3597 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 04:52 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,017
Rewards Points: 2,832
Default

GFI outlet in bathroom


There is no point to a second GFI in the circuit if it is already downstream of the garage GFI.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 06:20 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Southeast MA
Posts: 642
Rewards Points: 614
Default

GFI outlet in bathroom


A properly installed gfi protects whatever is downstream of it regardless of how far. As noted, you would just be doubling up. Ron
ront02769 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 06:29 PM   #4
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,974
Rewards Points: 2,218
Default

GFI outlet in bathroom


Sounds normal to me, but you otta just trip/test that garage gfi and make sure that your bath recepticals are dead.

While normal, it does not have to be wired that way.
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 09:01 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,186
Rewards Points: 1,486
Default

GFI outlet in bathroom


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
There is no point to a second GFI in the circuit if it is already downstream of the garage GFI.
unless you want to pigtail to the gfci in the garage, and add another gfci to the bath, so if the garage trips it won't turn off the bathroom, or if the bathroom trips you don't have to go to the garage to reset.

imo
ritelec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 09:18 PM   #6
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,974
Rewards Points: 2,218
Default

GFI outlet in bathroom


Quote:
Originally Posted by ritelec View Post
unless you want to pigtail to the gfci in the garage, and add another gfci to the bath, so if the garage trips it won't turn off the bathroom, or if the bathroom trips you don't have to go to the garage to reset.

imo
Which might make alot of sense for $10, when others do not realize where the controlling GFI is located, or somebody puts shelving and resultant garage crap over the garage GFI.
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 11:10 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,710
Rewards Points: 2,380
Default

GFI outlet in bathroom


Quote:
Originally Posted by joregon3597 View Post
I have a home built in the 90's. The bathroom outlets themselves are not GFI but they are tied to a GFI circuit that has the GFI outlet in the garage. I guess that's how they did it back then.
I'm replacing the standard outlet in the bathroom and I don't know if I can/should install a GFI outlet in that bathroom with it already tied to a GFI circuit from the garage? Is it bad to have it doubled up like that?
Thanks for any advice.

So where is the gfi on this circuit located ?
In the panel ? only in the garage ?
Where do the bathroom outlets tie into this circuit ?
You description is a little muddled and we need to be
sure that the bathroom outlets are not already gfi protected !

If so ? why do you want another gfi (which may or may not work).

Please elaborate !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 07:58 AM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

GFI outlet in bathroom


My home was originally like this. I think it's extremely stupid. Difference was I had a GFI breaker in the garage.
You would need to go to the original GFI and place both sets of wires on the LINE terminals. Then install GFIs at the other locations, also only using the LINE terminals.
I'd MUCH rather have the GFI local to where it is being used. Although, I can honestly say I have never even tripped a GFI in my home.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2014, 09:39 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 858
Rewards Points: 732
Default

GFI outlet in bathroom


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey
My home was originally like this. I think it's extremely stupid. Difference was I had a GFI breaker in the garage. You would need to go to the original GFI and place both sets of wires on the LINE terminals. Then install GFIs at the other locations, also only using the LINE terminals. I'd MUCH rather have the GFI local to where it is being used. Although, I can honestly say I have never even tripped a GFI in my home.
Agree fully. GFCIs are not expensive anymore. While code compliant to use one for several locations by running off the load side, it seems frugalness to a fault. I'd rewire the garage unit to send line voltage to bathroom and install a GFCI there. That only works if the garage to bathroom run is direct and nothing in between. Maybe it's wired that way. Failing that maybe a small label on the bathroom stating GFCI for this outlet is located in the garage.

Advertisement

curiousB is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Outlet from Bathroom Light-Switch TheDeputyChef Electrical 23 08-28-2013 04:56 PM
Odd voltages at outlet TJF Electrical 12 11-01-2011 10:13 PM
Switched Outlet Issue mjm Electrical 11 01-23-2011 08:41 AM
ground bathroom outlet flman Electrical 4 01-16-2011 12:52 PM
outlet in bathroom cabinet OK? matty Electrical 5 08-02-2007 10:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts