Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-18-2013, 01:43 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 79
Share |
Default

Gfi outlet


I just hooked up a gfi outlet in bathroom. The green light is on but outlet gives no power. The wires r hooked on the IN line screws. Everything is hooked up correct but still no power. ?? The line going to the gfi is coming from the light in the ceiling. I pushed the reset button but nothing happens. When I push the test button it does not push in at all. Could it b a bad gfi outlet I bought

ecocco1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 01:57 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,756
Default

Gfi outlet


The wires are on the wrong terminals.

brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (04-18-2013)
Old 04-18-2013, 05:14 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 79
Default

Gfi outlet


I put black to hot spot ( gold) screw n white to silver screw like it said
ecocco1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 05:18 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,632
Default

Gfi outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by ecocco1469 View Post
I put black to hot spot ( gold) screw n white to silver screw like it said
There are LINE and LOAD terminals... be sure you connected to the LINE terminals ONLY.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 06:56 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 79
Default

Gfi outlet


I wrote that its hook up to the IN not on the load
ecocco1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 07:02 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 139
Default

Gfi outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by ecocco1469
I wrote that its hook up to the IN not on the load
Was this a regular receptacle that you are now replacing with a GFCI? How many cables are coming into the box?
clydesdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 07:53 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,318
Default

Gfi outlet


The instructions should say what the green light means.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 08:49 PM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,756
Default

Gfi outlet


New Levitons green light comes on immediately if power is applied to recep with line incorrectly connected to load. When line wires are correctly connected to line terminals and power is applied, green light comes on after pushing the reset button.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
operagost (04-22-2013)
Old 04-18-2013, 09:05 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 79
Default

Gfi outlet


There was no outlet in bathroom the wire was going to a light above sink that I removed n now hooked up to gfi.
ecocco1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 09:11 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,634
Default

Gfi outlet


Did you tap into a switch leg?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 10:14 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 79
Default

Gfi outlet


Yes I think so. The wire is coming from the light on ceiling wich was going to another track light I above sink. So I eliminated the track light n ran wire to the new gfi outlet. I have the green light on but no power. I hooked it right black to brass in the IN line location n white to silver n hooked up ground wire. Could it b the ground wire should I try it without the ground wire
ecocco1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 10:16 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 79
Default

Gfi outlet


The wires have juice cause I hooked them up to a light n it turns on. Since its coming from the switch would it b that now the white wire is the hot wire n not the black?
ecocco1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 05:38 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 134
Default

Gfi outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by ecocco1469 View Post
The wires have juice cause I hooked them up to a light n it turns on. Since its coming from the switch would it b that now the white wire is the hot wire n not the black?
It could be. Temporarily reverse the white and black on the receptacle. If it works, you have your answer. Go back and correct the mistake. If it doesn't work (and you are convinced you have wired it correctly), you may have a bad receptacle right out of the box.
al_smelter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 03:18 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 79
Default

Gfi outlet


The wiring was correct. The brand new outlet was bad

ecocco1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outdoor Outlet seansy59 Electrical 3 03-09-2012 03:50 PM
Swithced Outlet to Ceiling Light/Fan Troubles adamiano86 Electrical 7 01-29-2012 09:36 PM
Switched outlet series Overkll Electrical 4 12-07-2010 07:38 AM
Outlet before light switch; Open Neutral? Fox Electrical 21 09-26-2010 08:38 PM
Help Help richie02 Electrical 7 06-17-2008 08:42 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.