Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2012, 12:57 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

GFI for outdoor circuit


I am running an undergound 110v to my shed and adding a dedicated 20 amp circuit to my panel. It is about 130 feet from the panel to the shed and I plan to use 10awg put put a switch in between at the house . Where do I need to place the gfi. Is it before the undrground section or at the end or shed? Can I just use a gfi receptical or do I need to use a gfi breaker?

rshort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 02:19 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,789
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFI for outdoor circuit


Your choice!
If you use the gfci before the wire goes underground, you can bury it 12" deep, but you have to walk 130 feet to reset it.
You can put it out it in the shed, but you then need to bury the wire at 24"

Gfci receptacles are cheaper than breakers.
If you put it outside, it needs to be tamper proof/water resistant and have a bubble cover.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
DangerMouse (10-05-2012)
Old 10-05-2012, 02:28 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Western PA
Posts: 203
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFI for outdoor circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Your choice!
If you use the gfci before the wire goes underground, you can bury it 12" deep, but you have to walk 130 feet to reset it.
You can put it out it in the shed, but you then need to bury the wire at 24"

Gfci receptacles are cheaper than breakers.
If you put it outside, it needs to be tamper proof/water resistant and have a bubble cover.
Would there be a problem doing both? (Budget permitting, of course.)

Put a GF breaker in the panel before the wire goes underground, so you only have to dig 12".

Put a GF receptacle in the shed, so if a ground fault occurs in the shed, you can reset it without having to walk the 130' back to the house.
Dave632 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 02:52 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,789
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFI for outdoor circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave632 View Post
Would there be a problem doing both? (Budget permitting, of course.)

Put a GF breaker in the panel before the wire goes underground, so you only have to dig 12".

Put a GF receptacle in the shed, so if a ground fault occurs in the shed, you can reset it without having to walk the 130' back to the house.
You can do that, but there is no way to know which gfci would trip in case of a ground fault.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 03:32 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Western PA
Posts: 203
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFI for outdoor circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
You can do that, but there is no way to know which gfci would trip in case of a ground fault.
I believe that Murphy's Law would apply. Whichever breaker is further away will be the one that trips.
Dave632 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.