Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-10-2009, 05:05 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 2,039
Rewards Points: 10
Share |
Default

GFI needed in garage?


Adding new outlet in attached garage. Does the NEC recommend a GFI protected outlet?

bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 05:12 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFI needed in garage?


No, they REQUIRE it to meet code

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 05:17 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 2,039
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFI needed in garage?


I don't appreciate the attitude in your response. I know th NEC states requirements, but as you well know (with your attitude you likely know everything) local codes can supercede NEC or they may use different year versions. My question was whether the current code REQUIRES a GFI in an attached garage.
Anyone else want to second scuby's answer?
tia,
BOb
bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 05:21 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFI needed in garage?


I have the code book, Yes they REQUIRE it

There was no tone to my post - just the facts
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 05:36 PM   #5
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFI needed in garage?


Are you adding on to an existing circuit? Is that circuit already GFCI protected? 15A & 20A/125V receptacles in a garage (attached or not) are required to be GFCI protected. How it's done varies.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should

Last edited by SD515; 04-10-2009 at 05:38 PM.
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 06:42 PM   #6
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFI needed in garage?


Yes all outlets in a garage must be GFCI protected
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 06:46 PM   #7
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 517
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFI needed in garage?


Under the 2005 code, all 'readily accessible' outlets must be GFCI protected. Under 2008, all outlets of any kind must be. 2005 made the distinction between outlets for garage door openers, refrigerators, etc. 2008 eliminated that distinction.

Last edited by Bigplanz; 04-10-2009 at 08:36 PM.
Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 07:37 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFI needed in garage?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bob22 View Post
Adding new outlet in attached garage. Does the NEC recommend a GFI protected outlet?
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob22 View Post
I don't appreciate the attitude in your response. I know th NEC states requirements, but as you well know (with your attitude you likely know everything) local codes can supercede NEC or they may use different year versions. My question was whether the current code REQUIRES a GFI in an attached garage.
Anyone else want to second scuby's answer?
tia,
BOb
Re-read your 1st question
Actually your question was do they recommend it
My answer was they require it
Since you fail to indicate where you are located no-one can answer about your local code
But there are very few states that have not accepted 2008
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 08:28 PM   #9
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,510
Rewards Points: 4
Default

GFI needed in garage?


I ditto Scuba
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 09:16 PM   #10
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFI needed in garage?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bob22 View Post
I don't appreciate the attitude in your response. I know th NEC states requirements, but as you well know (with your attitude you likely know everything) local codes can supercede NEC or they may use different year versions. My question was whether the current code REQUIRES a GFI in an attached garage.
Anyone else want to second scuby's answer?
tia,
BOb
How can you sense an attitude in a written text? Besides, your response above really doesn't make alot of sense. Your question was "Does the NEC recommend a GFI protected outlet?" You specifically asked about the NEC, not a local code. The answer you got was "No, they REQUIRE it".

You got your answer, then attacked the answerer, I do not appreciate your attitude.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 08:58 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 2,039
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFI needed in garage?


Dear Dave,
I apologize for my remark and I appreciate your help.
Hatchet buried on my part.
Bob
bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 11:09 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFI needed in garage?


Sorry my reply seemed "off", it was incomplete
No problem

Here's a link to state acceptance of 2008
http://www.childoutletsafety.org/fil...doptionMap.pdf

I think if I had a freezer in the garage under 2005 I would have run a dedicated circuit without a GFCI

To be more clear about options:

If you are adding an outlet off of an existing GFCI breaker protected circuit then a GFCI outlet is not needed

If you are adding an outlet off the LOAD side of an existing GFCI outlet then another GFCI outlet is not needed
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 08:32 PM   #13
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 517
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFI needed in garage?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post

I think if I had a freezer in the garage under 2005 I would have run a dedicated circuit without a GFCI
This is what I did in my basement for a freezer. I ran a dedicated outlet for the freezer, only. This is allowed (a single outlet, not a duplex) under 2005, but not 2008.
Attached Thumbnails
GFI needed in garage?-342215486_ffagy-m-1.jpg  
Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 08:51 PM   #14
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFI needed in garage?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bob22 View Post
Adding new outlet in attached garage. Does the NEC recommend a GFI protected outlet?

When I built my detached garage & wired it I had to install install these to meet code.. Ever tried to run power tools with these ?? They would trip every time I used my grinder , drill, etc,.. After inspection . I removed them. When/ if I sell , I may have to re install them
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 09:24 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFI needed in garage?


I actually have been using power tools on GFCI protected outlets building my sunroom & additions for 4+ years without tripping a single one
3/8 & 1/2" drills, circ saw, 2 different table saws, sawzall, grinder

I have some lamps that my AFCI's did not like

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 02:57 PM
Garage floor repair help needed mntentman Flooring 5 08-31-2008 12:00 PM
Building Garage Loft...Advice needed mcu Building & Construction 3 08-25-2008 11:58 PM
Moving washer and dryer into Garage, perhaps some constucion needed? J187 Building & Construction 4 05-21-2008 11:53 AM
Garage Door Help Needed LaffyTaffy General DIY Discussions 7 12-17-2007 08:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.