Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-15-2009, 10:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Lightbulb

gfi installation not working


I have installed a new gfi outlet according to the instructions (2) White wires on the silver connectors and (2) Black wires on the brass connectors. The ground wire is connected to the grounding terminal. The correct wiring / trip indicator light is on, but I can not get a live outlet. I have used a Electrical tester to verify a live connection and the tester does not light up or any items plugged into the outlet do not work.
Do I need to prep the gfi outlet prior to connection?
Please provide a solution or two to try to get the gfi outlet to work.

Thanks
Maureen

rean102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 10:12 PM   #2
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

gfi installation not working


Did you press the Reset button?

300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 10:22 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

gfi installation not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by rean102 View Post
I have used a Electrical tester to verify a live connection and the tester does not light up or any items plugged into the outlet do not work.
Almost all elec. testers respond to phantom voltages. Use an incand. bulb to check for voltage at the line terminals of the GFCI.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 10:52 PM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,040
Rewards Points: 2,050
Default

gfi installation not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by rean102 View Post
I have installed a new gfi outlet according to the instructions (2) White wires on the silver connectors and (2) Black wires on the brass connectors. The ground wire is connected to the grounding terminal. The correct wiring / trip indicator light is on, but I can not get a live outlet. I have used a Electrical tester to verify a live connection and the tester does not light up or any items plugged into the outlet do not work.
Do I need to prep the gfi outlet prior to connection?
Please provide a solution or two to try to get the gfi outlet to work.

Thanks
Maureen
Maureen


You probably have it miswired. It is correct to connect the white to the silver and the black to brass but you must have the black and white that brings power to the gfci on the line terminals and the others on the load terminals if you want the downstream receptacles or lights protected by the gfci.

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 12:25 AM   #5
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,524
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

gfi installation not working


Stubbie,
Congrats on the annotated GFCI Pic. An annotated Pic is worth a thousand words.
.
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery

Last edited by PaliBob; 07-16-2009 at 04:39 PM. Reason: sp
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Konecto Installation Tidbit jennydavis Flooring 9 01-06-2009 12:19 AM
Inside Fan not working BenH HVAC 20 07-08-2008 06:10 AM
Electricl Installation for Electric Tankless Water Heater Educator Electrical 13 07-06-2008 10:27 AM
GE fridge evaporator fan change and still not working Trish Appliances 2 03-30-2008 01:47 PM
Aluminum Soffit and Fascia Installation... MoparAutoworks Building & Construction 1 12-17-2006 07:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.