GFI Installation - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-20-2011, 02:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFI installation


I installed a GFI in guest bath. There is a three way light switch downstream of GFI. Every time I turn on this light, the GFI trips. With no bulb in the light fixture, the GFI does not trip when either switch is put to on position. Will GFDI work upstream of a three way or is there inherent problem. If solution exists please advise. Is problem in grounding circuit?
Thank you.

Advertisement

whbare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 03:35 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

GFI installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by whbare
I installed a GFI in guest bath. There is a three way light switch downstream of GFI. Every time I turn on this light, the GFI trips. With no bulb in the light fixture, the GFI does not trip when either switch is put to on position. Will GFDI work upstream of a three way or is there inherent problem. If solution exists please advise. Is problem in grounding circuit?
Thank you.
The problem is downstream. And I would try to dedicate the outlet in the bathroom. Move the switch and light to another circuit

Advertisement

Sunny B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 04:07 PM   #3
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

GFI installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by whbare View Post
I installed a GFI in guest bath. There is a three way light switch downstream of GFI. Every time I turn on this light, the GFI trips. With no bulb in the light fixture, the GFI does not trip when either switch is put to on position. Will GFDI work upstream of a three way or is there inherent problem. If solution exists please advise. Is problem in grounding circuit?
Thank you.
Technically it should work so something must be wired wrong.
I take it you removed an existing receptacle and replaced it with a GFCI. How many wires were attached to the old receptacle and how did you attach them to the GFCI?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sewage grinder pit and pump installation leff1rj Plumbing 15 02-04-2011 12:36 PM
casement windows installation versus double hung installation user82106 Building & Construction 2 06-16-2010 06:56 PM
Konecto Installation Tidbit jennydavis Flooring 9 01-06-2009 01:19 AM
Electricl Installation for Electric Tankless Water Heater Educator Electrical 13 07-06-2008 11:27 AM
Aluminum Soffit and Fascia Installation... MoparAutoworks Building & Construction 1 12-17-2006 08:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts