GFI Breaker & Pool Pump - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2006, 08:36 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFI Breaker & pool pump


OK I have been reviewing this forum for a while.... and it is full of great advice - now that I'm knee deep into my project it's time for a couple of questions.....

Background: Inground Pool install
* 1.5 hp pump - dedicated wiring 12/2 Metal Clad Cable to service panel (30 AMP GFI)
* Pool Light - dedicated wiring 12/2 Romex to Service Panel (15 AMP GFI)
* Courtesy GFI Outlet - dedicated wiring 12/2 Romex to service panel

I am wiring the pump for 240V circuit and I pulled the 12/2 MC cable back to the service panel because it had an insulated ground, however I also have the 30 AMP - 2 pole GFI breaker and I have no neutral wire coming into the breaker just the Black (L1) the White* (hot L2) and Green (Ground).....

Have I done something wrong or as long as I put the piggy tail GFI neutral into the bus bar - does that make it GFI....?

Confused..

Thanks.
Mitchman

Advertisement

mitchman333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2006, 03:26 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

GFI Breaker & pool pump


You CANNOT use the 30 amp breaker with the 12/2 cable.You may only use a 20 (or 15) amp breaker.
The white wire from teh GFI breaker must be connected the the neutral bus in the panel. You do not connect anything to the load side neutral connection. A 240v motor has NO neutral, but the GFCB needs it's line side connection to work properly.

The pool light needs conduit all the way back to the panel, unless you are under NEC 2005 in which case you can use MC cable for the inside the house portion only.

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2006, 04:04 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFI Breaker & pool pump


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey
You CANNOT use the 30 amp breaker with the 12/2 cable.You may only use a 20 (or 15) amp breaker.....

The pool light needs conduit all the way back to the panel, unless you are under NEC 2005 in which case you can use MC cable for the inside the house portion only.
Thanks Speedy Petey for the reply...

I ordered the 20 AMP GFI Breaker from teh supply house, but they only had 30 AMP in stock, I better go get that exchanged...

In regards to the wet-niche Pool Light, now I'm confused.... outside I am using 1' PVC conduit THHN/THWN 8 AWG wiring back to a junction box next to the house.... from there my service panel is on the other side of the house.... and that too has to be wired in conduit or MC if using NEC 2002.....? Holy cr*p.... this Pool Light ain't worth it....

Thanks for your help...

Mitchman
mitchman333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2006, 05:00 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

GFI Breaker & pool pump


The pool light needs more than that. You need to go from the forming shell to a "deck box". From this deck box you can go to any junction box or switching device you like. But you cannot go directly from the shell to a swtich or j-box. Ask you supplier about the"deck box". He should know what it is.


I strongly suggest you get a good book or two regarding residential wiring, specifically having a comprehensive section on pools.
Pools and spas are one of the most highly regulated sections of the code, and for good reason.
This is not an area you want to make any mistakes.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2006, 05:01 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

GFI Breaker & pool pump


Here is a good link to get you going:
In Ground Pools
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2006, 05:56 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFI Breaker & pool pump


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey
The pool light needs more than that. You need to go from the forming shell to a "deck box". .
Thanks so much - I do have a "deck box" in between mypool light & switch/J-box, it's just hard to be too descriptive in a message forum thread.... (I suck at typing...)

It was the pool light - inhouse wiring that threw me...... I have herd so much conflicting info (from electricians) on in-house wiring from the pump & pool light, that it's maddening... my town follows NEC 2002, I've been reading NEC 2005.....

[/quote]Here is a good link to get you going:
In Ground Pools[/quote]

Thanks for the link too.... I have previously bookmarked & read this website for above/inground pool electrical wiring.....

Thanks again...

Mitchman
mitchman333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2006, 06:31 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

GFI Breaker & pool pump


First off why are you pulling #12 for a 30amp breaker. I beleive #12 is good for 20A, so you will need number 10 or 8, someone who knows for sure can tell you. If you leave it like this and I understand it you have a very unsafe situation.

Regarding the motor, if it is a 240V motor there will be no neutral. You can use the white wire as one of your hots though. The neutral is only used when you have a 120V device.

Darren
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2006, 06:32 PM   #8
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

GFI Breaker & pool pump


SOrry did not see other people had replied

Advertisement

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 06:55 AM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 06:44 PM
Breaker Buzz SkipI Electrical 2 07-13-2007 08:48 PM
Heat Pump compressor trips circuit breaker joejean HVAC 3 08-28-2006 01:15 PM
Pool Wiring phinfan1266 Electrical 4 06-27-2006 03:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts