GFI With 1 Plain Recepticle - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2007, 09:36 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 147
Rewards Points: 75
Default

GFI with 1 plain recepticle


I have a GFI with a 14-2 direct to my panel in my washroom. I wanted to know if i could connect 1 plain plug to it. The previous setup had 1 plug in the next room connected to the washroom circuit so i didnt want to leave it dead, i was going to connect it with the CFI. Will this affect the CGI in any way?

Advertisement

simonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2007, 11:34 PM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,247
Rewards Points: 2,464
Default

GFI with 1 plain recepticle


Are you talking about your laundry or bath?

Please keep it GFI your crossin my eyeballs.

USA or Canada?

Stubbie

Advertisement

Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 01:11 AM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GFI with 1 plain recepticle


SimonB

there is the diffrence between bathroom and laundry room also with the codewise they are diffrent set depending how you describe the circuit run

normally in USA the bathroom circuit for repectlaes is 20 amp GFCI'ed and you can have more than one reptecale in bathroom but that circuit cannot run to other room.

the Landury room is useally a 20 amp circuit GFCI or not depending on what area you are in and if have laundry tub in there or not too.

Note :, in bathroom the lumiaires [ lightfixures ] is pretty tricky part some area yes must have gfci some dont depending on where it will be mounted

also with the exhaust fan in bathroom genrally useally recomned have it GFCI

for the Candana codes it will be slightly diffrent also we have a cananda guy here i think he will show up from time to time i am sure he will fill you in with this as well

Merci , Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 12:25 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 147
Rewards Points: 75
Default

GFI with 1 plain recepticle


Sorry for the confusion, it was a long day when i wrote this poste. First off i live in Ontario Canda, and its a washroom. I know idealy you dont want to bring the power to other rooms from the washroom, but this is a older house and the wiring was already there, i wouldnt do this if i had the wall opened in the room beside it and be able to run new stuff. This is a spare room and there wont really be anythign running in there that i can think.
simonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 12:36 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

GFI with 1 plain recepticle


As far as I know the Canadian Code allows you to share the circuit that is used for the bathroom. When I was in school that was allowed and unless they changed in the latest code book you are allowed.

If i were you i would not connect the regular outlet to the load side of the GFI. Either make a pigtail in the GFI box or put both wires under the line side. Now if your regular plug is within 5 feet of a sink it should get protected.

Darren
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2007, 02:27 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 147
Rewards Points: 75
Default

GFI with 1 plain recepticle


Thanks for the reply darren. The regular plug is in the next room, so its not a problem. Im thinking the pigtail is the best way for me to go.

Advertisement

simonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
adding a ground to an ungrounded recepticle SS396 Electrical 41 09-16-2007 05:56 PM
Problem with Split Recepticle jacksup Electrical 6 07-09-2007 10:19 AM
Replace old dryer recepticle Christo Electrical 1 01-26-2006 07:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts