Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-14-2013, 04:39 PM   #61
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 54
Share |
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso954 View Post
So, are you trying to put the fire out, or fanning the flames ?
I tried putting the fire out once with the picture of the circuitry and was told that I was a dumb a$$ that is not how they worked.

A number of them try to justify removing GFCI from there yards by saying that they do not need them since christmas lights do not have a ground.


Last edited by KStatefan; 06-14-2013 at 04:43 PM.
KStatefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 04:56 PM   #62
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,526
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by KStatefan

I had never seen this circuitry before. Next time GFCI comes up on a Christmas light forum I belong to I will post this diagram.

This is how I have always seen the circuit.
That's a valid diagram. The N-G monitoring is part of that box labelled "solid state circuitry". Check out the link Oso has up.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 05:02 PM   #63
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,304
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
There is alot of misinformation in this thread. I was going to respond to DMX's post, but it is so full of wrong I didn't know where to start. Just ignore his post.
Please feel free to say where you think I am wrong ?

I dont think I am wrong,
but the terminology is slightly different in the USA to Australia,
so you might just be mis-understanding what I am trying to say.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 05:14 PM   #64
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,492
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
That's a valid diagram. The N-G monitoring is part of that box labelled "solid state circuitry". Check out the link Oso has up.
House Helper.... I'll check next time I'm picking up some GFI's... but is this GFI (the n-g fault moitoring GFIfor lack of better name) the common, likely,normal type that I'm most likely to pick up today in a big-box.

That was really interesting what you taught several of us.

Best
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 08:10 PM   #65
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,632
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by KStatefan View Post
I tried putting the fire out once with the picture of the circuitry and was told that I was a dumb a$$ that is not how they worked.

A number of them try to justify removing GFCI from there yards by saying that they do not need them since christmas lights do not have a ground.
Idiots...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 09:01 PM   #66
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by KStatefan

I tried putting the fire out once with the picture of the circuitry and was told that I was a dumb a$$ that is not how they worked.

A number of them try to justify removing GFCI from there yards by saying that they do not need them since christmas lights do not have a ground.
Yeah because obviously you won't get shocked if there's no ground wire.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Kyle_in_rure For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (06-14-2013)
Old 06-14-2013, 11:46 PM   #67
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,316
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Idiots...
I resemble that remark.
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sirsparksalot For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (06-15-2013)
Old 06-15-2013, 12:38 AM   #68
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot

I resemble that remark.

Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI Outlets Needed jdjd Electrical 2 05-08-2012 03:57 PM
Low-voltage track light triggers GFCI outlets mpf01 Electrical 4 11-08-2011 09:15 PM
GFCI Outlets in Series allbymyself Electrical 6 01-24-2011 11:52 PM
GFCI breakers equivalent to GFCI outlets? Any code pitfalls? TomServo Electrical 27 02-04-2010 10:59 PM
Add GFCI at panel to protect outside Red Squirrel Electrical 3 12-18-2009 09:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.