Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-14-2013, 08:04 AM   #31
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,539
Share |
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz

There is alot of misinformation in this thread. I was going to respond to DMX's post, but it is so full of wrong I didn't know where to start. Just ignore his post.

HH, a GFI will function (trip) without a grounding conductor (ground). It will not function without a groundED conductor (neutral). This is the reason one of the acceptable methods of replacing a receptacle on an ungrounded circuit is to use a GFCI.
I understand that. My last answer was in response to tripping on a neutral/ground short... that relies on the ground connection to the panel, so a bootleg ground will not trip the GFCI.

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 08:06 AM   #32
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,539
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed
I would like to know how you induce a small current on the neutral without using any current from the hot.
You do it from the line side of the GFCI, before the sensor.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne

Last edited by HouseHelper; 06-14-2013 at 08:53 AM.
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 08:52 AM   #33
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,788
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
I would like to know how you induce a small current on the neutral without using any current from the hot.
Thanks Joed....Good question....I'm still "scatchin my head on this"
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 09:09 AM   #34
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,788
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


House Helper... Sorry to be so dense/slow understanding this 120 HZ circuitry that I never knew was in a GFI.

Is it just a duplicative type check by the GFI that there is not a hot ground on the load side performed prior to any load being placed on the load side...

Because if you have a hot ground (neutral- ground "short"/ jump/ connection) on the load side, the GFI is going to trip anyway as soon as a load is placed on the load side..... so is it not just a duplicative type double check.

Am I still confused or missing something.... THANKS for hanging/explaining to me.

Best

Peter
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 09:31 AM   #35
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Next topic: how an AFCI works!

Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 09:55 AM   #36
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,270
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle_in_rure View Post
Next topic: how an AFCI works!

The same only at 30 mA instead of 6

(For the record, I haven't got the slightest idea HOW an AFCI or a GFCI works...it was a joke)
jproffer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 09:58 AM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 740
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


What is a "bootleg" ground?
miamicuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 10:02 AM   #38
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,788
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle_in_rure View Post
Next topic: how an AFCI works!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jproffer View Post
The same only at 30 mA instead of 6

(For the record, I haven't got the slightest idea HOW an AFCI or a GFCI works...it was a joke)
Sorry Guys... I just never heard of that 120 HZ circuitry in a GFI, and just trying to understand it.

Matter of fact, I've got to learn about AFCI too,

Peter
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 10:04 AM   #39
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,788
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by miamicuse View Post
What is a "bootleg" ground?
Often in no ground wiring, a jumper from neutral to the ground in a receptical, or to any grounding type wire to the metal box or appliance ground.(EDIT2:Sometimes also happens when someone looses a neutral and someone has jumped the broken neutral to the ground)


EDIT: Thought I otta add, gives you a hot ground and "hot appliance" and potential shock issue to the user.
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)

Last edited by MTN REMODEL LLC; 06-14-2013 at 10:10 AM.
MTN REMODEL LLC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 10:26 AM   #40
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,270
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by MTN REMODEL LLC View Post
Sorry Guys... I just never heard of that 120 HZ circuitry in a GFI, and just trying to understand it.

Matter of fact, I've got to learn about AFCI too,

Peter

Don't be sorry to me ....that was aimed at the post I quoted...and I was just messing around.

But I do think I got the numbers right...an AFCI trips at 30 milliamps difference, and a GFCI trips at 6 milliamps difference.
jproffer is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jproffer For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (06-14-2013), MTN REMODEL LLC (06-14-2013)
Old 06-14-2013, 11:54 AM   #41
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 54
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by MTN REMODEL LLC View Post
Sorry Guys... I just never heard of that 120 HZ circuitry in a GFI, and just trying to understand it.



Peter
I have not either.

What voltage is this 120 HZ current?
KStatefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 12:12 PM   #42
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,459
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


I don't believe the explanation is true that is why I asked the question pretty much proves I am correct.

The GFCI function is simple. If there is a difference in current between hot and neutral it trips. I have not heard of any other features that would trip it except that some of them will not reset if there is no power present.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.

Last edited by joed; 06-14-2013 at 12:14 PM.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 12:18 PM   #43
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,788
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
I don't believe the explanation is true that is why I asked the question pretty much proves I am correct.

The GFCI function is simple. If there is a difference in current between hot and neutral it trips. I have not heard of any other features that would trip it except that some of them will not reset if there is no power present.

Joed.... I'm a wondering too and "scratchin my head" on this one

Best

Peter
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 12:30 PM   #44
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by miamicuse View Post
What is a "bootleg" ground?
Its where someone takes a wire and jumps from the white wire terminal, and ties it to the ground screw, completely illegal and dangerous
__________________
If at first you don't succeed .... do not work on live electrical
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 01:16 PM   #45
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,509
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
I don't believe the explanation is true that is why I asked the question pretty much proves I am correct.
No, it doesn't.
Attached Thumbnails
GFCI will not protect five outlets-gfcicirc.jpg  

Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI Outlets Needed jdjd Electrical 2 05-08-2012 03:57 PM
Low-voltage track light triggers GFCI outlets mpf01 Electrical 4 11-08-2011 09:15 PM
GFCI Outlets in Series allbymyself Electrical 6 01-24-2011 11:52 PM
GFCI breakers equivalent to GFCI outlets? Any code pitfalls? TomServo Electrical 27 02-04-2010 10:59 PM
Add GFCI at panel to protect outside Red Squirrel Electrical 3 12-18-2009 09:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.