Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2013, 10:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


I have installed many GFCI outlets and wired them to protect down line outlets. I am helping a neighbor by installing one in his storage building. There are five wall mounted outlets. I installed the GFCI in the first one and fed the rest from the "load" side. The reset button will not stay in. I even substituted another GFCI. Same problem. When I disconnect the hot and neutral from the load side I am able to operate the reset button.

Your ideas are welcome.

Thank you,
Dale

radiodale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 10:56 PM   #2
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,297
Rewards Points: 6
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Then there is a fault downstream. A GFI should protect 5 receptacles with no problem.

jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jproffer For This Useful Post:
jbfan (06-11-2013)
Old 06-10-2013, 10:56 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


There's a problem down stream? Do the downstream receptacle work without the GFCI in the first receptacle? Put the regular recep. back in and check those.
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 11:13 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Check the rest of the receptals downstream and double check the netural / ground it should not be touching each other.

It easy to check all of them at once then you will know you got it otherwise it can be a easter egg hunt.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 11:14 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


possible ground and neutral making contact on load side.
oleguy74 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 01:05 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 2,888
Rewards Points: 106
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by oleguy74 View Post
possible ground and neutral making contact on load side.
That's the only thing that makes sense.
jeffnc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 07:34 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,426
Rewards Points: 192
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Powers on when your trying to reset it?
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 07:40 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by radiodale View Post
The reset button will not stay in.Your ideas are welcome.
My idea because it happened to me was when you pushed one of the protected receptacles back in the the box some of the insulation was scraped off the wire and is making contact with something it should not be making contact with.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 07:52 AM   #9
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,593
Rewards Points: 20
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Split the wires at the 3rd box. Reconnect the GFI and see if it works. If yes, the problem is in box 4 or 5. If no, the problem is in the first 3 boxes.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 08:40 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,517
Rewards Points: 56
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by radiodale View Post
I have installed many GFCI outlets and wired them to protect down line outlets. I am helping a neighbor by installing one in his storage building. There are five wall mounted outlets. I installed the GFCI in the first one and fed the rest from the "load" side. The reset button will not stay in. I even substituted another GFCI. Same problem. When I disconnect the hot and neutral from the load side I am able to operate the reset button.

Your ideas are welcome.

Thank you,
Dale
For GFCI's to work properly,
It's important that the earth and neutral lines are sperate,
And both go back to the main panel as seperate lines.
There should also not be any extra earths, apart from the
one and only main one at the panel.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 08:43 PM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
For GFCI's to work properly,
It's important that the earth and neutral lines are sperate,
And both go back to the main panel as seperate lines.
There should also not be any extra earths, apart from the
one and only main one at the panel.
What the wires do before the GFI does not matter. Most ground and neutral wires go to the same bar in the panel.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (06-12-2013)
Old 06-12-2013, 03:21 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 2,888
Rewards Points: 106
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
For GFCI's to work properly,
It's important that the earth and neutral lines are sperate,
And both go back to the main panel as seperate lines.
There should also not be any extra earths, apart from the
one and only main one at the panel.
Why? A GFCI circuit doesn't know where the current goes after it leaves the circuit. It couldn't possibly tell if the ground and neutral are connected after the circuit. A GFCI circuit only knows if the current going into it equals the current going out of it.
jeffnc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 05:40 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,517
Rewards Points: 56
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffnc View Post
Why? A GFCI circuit doesn't know where the current goes after it leaves the circuit.
Are you talking about before or after the gfci ?
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 07:23 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 2,888
Rewards Points: 106
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
Are you talking about before or after the gfci ?
By "circuit" I mean the GFCI circuitry.
jeffnc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 08:12 AM   #15
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,865
Rewards Points: 0
Default

GFCI will not protect five outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
Are you talking about before or after the gfci ?
It does not matter to the GFI what happens upstream from it.

__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI Outlets Needed jdjd Electrical 2 05-08-2012 03:57 PM
Low-voltage track light triggers GFCI outlets mpf01 Electrical 4 11-08-2011 09:15 PM
GFCI Outlets in Series allbymyself Electrical 6 01-24-2011 11:52 PM
GFCI breakers equivalent to GFCI outlets? Any code pitfalls? TomServo Electrical 27 02-04-2010 10:59 PM
Add GFCI at panel to protect outside Red Squirrel Electrical 3 12-18-2009 09:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.