Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-16-2011, 12:04 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 25
Angry

GFCI trips at the same time

I have a GFCI in my basement that my computer equipment is connected to. I have a number of different pieces of equipment plugged in. Occasionally, once a week, I would get up in the morning and all my computer equipment would be off and I noticed that the GFCI was tripped. To help cleanup the power coming and going to the equipment, I purchased a CyberPower 510 watt UPS. Also, being a software developer, I decided to write an application that writes to a log file every minute to help determine when the GFCI would trip.

After letting the logging application run for a few weeks and monitoring when the GFCI was tripping, I noticed that it would trip every couple days between the hours of 5:15am and 5:45am.

I decided to start removing pieces of the puzzle. First, I removed the computer as I have no idea what its doing at times of the night. After 1 week, the GFCI tripped again. The only thing I have left on the UPS is the router and a network switch.

This has been happening for 6 months now... every few days, between the hours of 5:15am and 5:45pm (NEVER any other time... not once in 6 months) the GFCI trips. I've replaced the GFCI with a new one and that didn't help.

Any thoughts?

ATJaguarX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 12:53 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor

Rewards Points: 2,000

Your surge protector is shunting out a power surge that occurs at roughly the same time each day. By doing so, the GFCI senses the mini-fault, and interprets it as a ground-fault condition, and then trips out.

Either remove the surge power strip, or install another non-GFCI protected outlet for your equipment. If you have a finished room, GFCI protection is not required.

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote