Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-13-2007, 08:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

GFCI Trips Overnight


I have a kitchen/mudroom circuit that is GFCI protected (first receptacle) which feeds into a six (total) receptacle circuit. All other receptacles are standard non-GFCI.The only items connected at present are a gas range (electrical ignitors/no clock), computer and a blender. Overnight (every night) I wake up to find the GFCI tripped. I have unplugged the computer and the blender and the GFCI still trips. I have not unplugged the stove yet (as it takes two men and a mule to move it).

Would anyone have an idea where to start looking? I plan on moving the stove this weekend and unplugging everything from the circuit. I replaced the GFCI with a new one with no luck. The house is one year old.
Jomby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 09:00 PM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

GFCI Trips Overnight


You must have a current leakage somewhere at one of those 6 protected receptacles. Sounds like moisture invasion somewhere. The fact that the gfci trips during the night tells me that something is turning on during the night and the gfci trips when it does or you have water dripping or getting into one of your receptacles boxes and eventually allows some very small amounts of current to flow to ground causing the gfci to trip.

Do you have anything on an extension cord plugged in to one of those outlets?
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 09:18 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Default

GFCI Trips Overnight


Only the first receptacle is protected. The only thing that is plugged in is the range (overnight), but I plan on moving it and unplugging it this weekend. I don't think that moisture is the problem as all outlets (except one) are on interior walls, but I will check the exterior wall outlet for moisture. There are no water lines anywhere near this circuit.

Nothing else is plugged into the circuit (except the stove) overnight at present. A friend ( a retired electrician) thought that maybe a neutral was nicked and is causing some leakage. He indicated that not much will cause the GFCI to trip.
Jomby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 09:30 PM   #4
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,506
Default

GFCI Trips Overnight


I'm confused. In your first post you said:
Quote:
I have a kitchen/mudroom circuit that is GFCI protected (first receptacle) which feeds into a six (total) receptacle circuit
In your next post you said:
Quote:
Only the first receptacle is protected
Which is it?

Try pulling the gfci receptacle out of the box, making sure none of the wires are touching. If you can safely do so, leave it this way overnight and see if it trips. If it does, then try it again, but this time with the wires on the LOAD side disconnected.

Does it only trip at night or will it trip during the day also?
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 09:34 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Default

GFCI Trips Overnight


I considered it a GFCI protected circuit as the first receptacle in the circuit is a GFCI receptacle. The remaining 5 receptacles are standard receptacles. The GFCI is in the kitchen.

I'll try this. The breaker seems to trip only at night..... when the gremlins are out I guess.
Jomby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 10:41 PM   #6
Custom Cabinet Maker
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Netcong NJ
Posts: 1,097
Default

GFCI Trips Overnight


Well this is proof of the legend :] With Gremlin's you CANNOT get em wet or feed em after midnight
Sorry the Devil made me do it LOL
There was another thread just today with almost same problem and seems after much investigation the culprit was a loose connection downstream of the GFCI
skymaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 40 10-15-2010 10:38 PM
New GFCI Breaker Tripping w/ 3-way Flourescents BigJimmy Electrical 8 12-29-2008 02:29 PM
Gfci Stays Trip CAJUN_MAN Electrical 6 12-14-2007 11:49 AM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 08:59 PM
GFCI questions 5circles Electrical 4 11-05-2007 08:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.