Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-18-2008, 10:46 AM   #1

Share |

GFCI Trips

Hope I can explain this clearly, as I am very new to working with electrical stuff. I have a GFCI outlet in my garage that is middle of the run and has two other outlets run from it (another outlet in the garage and one on my front porch).

I have 2 problems with this outlet:

1. While attempting to replace GFCI outlet yesterday (would not reset properly), I broke the ground wire right where the 3 ground wires entering the box are pigtailed. I really don't have enough slack to run a solid ground wire to the outlet. I did manage to slightly undo the pigtail and wirenut a bit of the same gauge wire into one of the grounds. Is this OK? Is there a better way? Am I violating codes?

2. The GFCI is middle of the run. I have the line wires going to the correct line holes. I have 2 seperate sets of load lines--one controls another outlet in the garage, the other goes to one (or more) outside outlets. If I connect just the line wires and test it, it is OK. If I connect the line wires and the load wires for the garage outlet, they both work OK. As soon as I try to connect the load wires for the outdoor outlet(s), it will not reset at all. Do you think it might be that the outdoor outlets might have some moisture in them? Could I have some bad wiring somewhere? Could my crazy rigged ground described above be throwing it off?

I'm pretty sure it is not the GFCI outlet, because I bought 2 new ones and they both do the same thing. Would it be better to replace the breaker witha GFCI breaker?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions. I'm at a loss and trying to avoid a pricy bill right before the holidays!

campbellpt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 01:05 PM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES

GFCI Trips

Quote:
Do you think it might be that the outdoor outlets might have some moisture in them?