Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2013, 09:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI with switch loop in the mix


I am attempting to exchange a regular recepticle with a gfci.Upon opening the box, I saw that there is a tan wire grouped with the white neutrals.I tried several scenerios with trying to pig tail the grouping to the neutral line on the gfci. It tripped. There is a cabinet light above the box and when I disconnected the brown wire it shut off the light. This brought me to the conclusion that the brown wire is a switch loop. Is there any way I can arm the gfci with this hot brown grouped to the whites and previously pigtailed to the neutral on the receptical which worked , but not now with the line neutral on the gfci? Thx, Jal64

jalacey64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 07:05 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

GFCI with switch loop in the mix


Connect the same wires that were connected to the original receptacle unit to the GFCI unit "Line" terminals.

Leave all of the other connections the same.

If two wires want to go under one screw, take a short lengh of wire (pigtail) of the same color and connect that to the screw. Connect the other end to the two wires in question using a wire nut.

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 03-06-2013 at 07:09 AM.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 10:49 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI with switch loop in the mix


I'll give it a shot. Thx AllanJ
jalacey64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bathroom fan using switch loop crescere Electrical 5 08-17-2012 11:57 AM
light and switch connected downstream from GFCI receptacle tim2011 Electrical 1 08-26-2011 04:26 AM
GFCI and Single Pole Switch bob9785 Electrical 8 07-16-2011 11:05 AM
Trouble with GFCI Outlet + Switch for pool lights kentf Electrical 5 05-23-2011 11:37 AM
Add new light and switch to a switch loop UncertainSparky Electrical 4 01-24-2010 08:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.