GFCI With Switch Loop In The Mix - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2013, 09:48 PM   #1
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10

GFCI with switch loop in the mix

I am attempting to exchange a regular recepticle with a gfci.Upon opening the box, I saw that there is a tan wire grouped with the white neutrals.I tried several scenerios with trying to pig tail the grouping to the neutral line on the gfci. It tripped. There is a cabinet light above the box and when I disconnected the brown wire it shut off the light. This brought me to the conclusion that the brown wire is a switch loop. Is there any way I can arm the gfci with this hot brown grouped to the whites and previously pigtailed to the neutral on the receptical which worked , but not now with the line neutral on the gfci? Thx, Jal64


jalacey64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 07:05 AM   #2
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,829
Rewards Points: 3,764

Connect the same wires that were connected to the original receptacle unit to the GFCI unit "Line" terminals.

Leave all of the other connections the same.

If two wires want to go under one screw, take a short lengh of wire (pigtail) of the same color and connect that to the screw. Connect the other end to the two wires in question using a wire nut.


States can help recovery from hurricanes and tornadoes by not requiring due digence or prompt and timely correction of substandard conditions, and by providing continued liability insurance where companies drop homeowners.

Last edited by AllanJ; 03-06-2013 at 07:09 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 10:49 PM   #3
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10


I'll give it a shot. Thx AllanJ
jalacey64 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bathroom fan using switch loop crescere Electrical 5 08-17-2012 11:57 AM
light and switch connected downstream from GFCI receptacle tim2011 Electrical 1 08-26-2011 04:26 AM
GFCI and Single Pole Switch bob9785 Electrical 8 07-16-2011 11:05 AM
Trouble with GFCI Outlet + Switch for pool lights kentf Electrical 5 05-23-2011 11:37 AM
Add new light and switch to a switch loop UncertainSparky Electrical 4 01-24-2010 08:58 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1