Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-07-2008, 09:36 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

GFCI switch to control outside outlets


What I'm attempting to do does not seem to be working so it may not be possible or I'm not setting it up correctly. FYI: I'm a very ignorant of things electrical.

What I HOPE to do:
Bottom line is I would like to have two sets of outlets outside. One set is "always hot" and the other set's power controlled by a switch indoors. This switch controlled set of outlets will be for a small outdoor fountain so we can control the on/off indoors.

What is happening:
I've got a leviton GFCI switch which has a set of terminals to send 'always on' power to an outlet.
The "always hot" outlets work fine.
The outlets attached to the switch leads get no power.

I FEEL I have wired things according to the diagram in the switch's instructions but being electrician illiterate, I don't understand allot of the verbage.
The "always hot" outlets are wired from terminals on the switch that are designed to go out to another outlet in "always hot" mode. WORKS FINE.
The switch controlled outlets are wired to the two black "switch leads" coming out of the switch unit. These leads are both black wires and the diagram shows one going to the black of the wire going to what they call the "Switched LOAD" and the other black wire going to the white of this same "Switched LOAD" wire. This "Switched LOAD" is what I have going to the outside outlet I want controlled by the switch. NOT WORKING.

Is it even possible to run the switch lead wires to power an outlet?
If so, any insights in where I may have wired incorrectly?

Thanks for ANY insights!
Bill in Sacramento

billgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 09:50 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Default

GFCI switch to control outside outlets


is this what you have? what is the model number?
Attached Images
 

__________________
Willis
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 10:05 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Default

GFCI switch to control outside outlets


sure looks like it. Lemme see if I can find the number on this instruction sheet. (looking... looking... )
Hmmm. maybe this; di-000-07299-02a-x4
billgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 10:21 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Default

GFCI switch to control outside outlets


yep, that's it.

I don't have the instructions that came with the device (can't find it on Leviton's site either).

Based on their spec drawing, this should work. Does this resemble anything on the device instructions??
The spec drawing does not identify the two wire leads as either "hot" or "neutral", which would be required if they were indeed hooked up to the hot and neutral of an outlet. They appear to be generic switch leads - hot in one lead, hot out the other when the switch is "on", and having the added benefit of being disconnected in the GFCI should a ground fault occer because the power would come from the LOAD terminals.

__________________
Willis

Last edited by williswires; 09-07-2008 at 10:28 PM.
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 10:47 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Default

GFCI switch to control outside outlets


Very good. LOL. Thanks
It is slightly different that what the instructions show. Lemme try to explain the difference. The difference is only on the "switch leads"

It shows both switch leads going to the "Switched LOAD" (which is my outlet). One via the black and the other via the white.
You show the switch lead on the HOT side going back into the switch's HOT LOAD and the other going to the outlet via the black (HOT) wire and the outlet's white (neutral) wire going back into the switch's neutral LOAD.

I scanned the instruction's diagram but I guess it was too large to upload. Sorry.

Bill
billgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 11:19 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Default

GFCI switch to control outside outlets


go to photobucket.com

upload your photo to their site.

under the photo at photobucket, copy the address that appears in the "direct link" line under your picture

In this forum, click the mountain picture "insert image". paste the direct link in the pop-up box and submit your post
__________________
Willis
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 11:20 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Default

GFCI switch to control outside outlets


Is one switch lead black and one white - or are they both black?

waiting to see their instructions...
__________________
Willis
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 11:34 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Default

GFCI switch to control outside outlets


Both switch leads are black.
Working on the instructions


Last edited by billgeo; 09-08-2008 at 12:17 AM.
billgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 09:19 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Default

GFCI switch to control outside outlets


It appears as though the switch leads are isolated from the gfci circuitry, just as if it were a separate device. The drawing as shown has the switch leads wired as part of a "switch loop".

Since you are wanting to use the switch to control the second outlet, using my prior diagram will accomplish what you wanted. All 3 outlets will be gfci protected, the main one on your device and the 2nd one will always be hot, and the 3rd will be controlled by the switch.

I recommend using the back-wire holes. To use the back wire holes, power off, make sure the screw is loosened, strip your wires, place them through the hole in the back and tighten the side screw to tighten the clamp which secures the wires for that particular terminal.

Test your gfci at each location.


Let us know how you made out.
__________________
Willis
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 09:43 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 93
Default

GFCI switch to control outside outlets


Here is the diagram redrawn. It is the same as what williswires drew previously.
Attached Thumbnails
GFCI switch to control outside outlets-modified_wiring.jpg  
daxinarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 09:45 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Default

GFCI switch to control outside outlets


Thanks Willis

I'm at work now so I'll try your setup this evening and let you know.
Either way, that's for all your effort on this.

Bill
billgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 09:47 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Default

GFCI switch to control outside outlets


Thanks daxinarian!
billgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 10:15 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Default

GFCI switch to control outside outlets


Now that drawing was just sah-weet! Nice coloring.
__________________
Willis
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 10:26 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 93
Default

GFCI switch to control outside outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by williswires View Post
Now that drawing was just sah-weet! Nice coloring.
Thanks, I get lots of practice coloring with my 3 yr old daughter

and your welcome Bill
daxinarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 11:09 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Default

GFCI switch to control outside outlets


woooooHOOOOO it WORKS!
Thanks Willis for your insight!
and thanks daxinarian for the saaaaaaaaah-weet

billgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI light switch trips once per night ???? mw6263 Electrical 11 07-25-2008 11:05 AM
Adding hot outlets to 3-way switch KJG67 Electrical 8 04-22-2008 11:53 AM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM
two GFCI outlets at bath vanity Hickory Electrical 6 12-18-2005 09:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.