Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-02-2010, 08:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Unhappy

GFCI Stumper


I have a whirlpool on a GFCI outlet.

I can plug a lamp into the GFCI and it works fine.
I plug in the whirlpool to the GFCI outlet and it trips immediately.
I unplug the whirlpool, reset the GFCI, plug the lamp in and it works fine.
I plug in the whirlpool and it trips immediately.

I plugged in a GFCI outlet tester and it shows that it is working properly.

I was thinking that maybe it had something to do with the whirlpool.
So I ran an extension cord to another GFCI outlet and the whirlpool runs just fine.

I next thought it had to do with the GFCI outlet itself.
I replaced the GFCI outlet and the same problem happens again.

I unplugged a few other minor things on the circuit with no change.

I have a 20A breaker and 12 gauge wire for the circuit.

While I am not 100% certain (as I think a parking lot designer wired this house) I do not see that another GFCI is on that circuit.

Any suggestions as to why this is happening and how to troubleshoot further or fix?

Thanks!


ksqrdks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 01:42 AM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

GFCI Stumper


one possible solution may be the amount of devices run of the load side of the gfci. Keep in mind that the gfci is keeping track of the leakage current at every device downstream. If there's enough devices then the very small amounts at each one can add up to enough to trip the gfci. The gfci that it works with may not have as many plugs downstream as the one your attempting to use.

andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 06:24 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,838
Default

GFCI Stumper


The whirlpool trips GFCI #1.
The whirlpool does not trip GFCI #2 somewhere else.
The whirlpool trips GFCI #3 that was substituted for GFCI #1.

Perhaps GFCI #2 was defective or maybe not quite as sensitive, or not properly installed, not tripping when it was supposed to.

I assume that the whirlpool power cord and the extension cord were 3 prong and the grounding that way did not have loose connections. If you have a ground fault and the only ground is through the power cord (no contact with nearby water pipes or the earth outside) and there is a loose connection in the ground, the GFCI will not trip.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 04-03-2010 at 06:45 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gfci, trip, whirlpool


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 41 06-05-2014 12:41 PM
Gfci Circuit howard.wheaton Electrical 10 01-29-2009 05:14 PM
new gfci on new circuit pops rtoni Electrical 39 11-15-2008 10:18 AM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 03:15 PM
GFCI questions 5circles Electrical 4 11-05-2007 08:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.