Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-28-2010, 05:25 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 257
Rewards Points: 250
Default

GFCI stickers?


I noticed when I installed my new outlets in my garage, the GFCI came with little stickers. Do these need to be placed on the load side outlet plates to meet NEC, or can I just toss them?

mopowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 05:27 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GFCI stickers?


Yes, they are supposed to be placed on the Load side outlets

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 06:02 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,895
Rewards Points: 2,046
Default

GFCI stickers?


The only mention of labeling by the NEC is when there is no equipment ground .
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 08:25 PM   #4
electrical instructor
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI stickers?


if you use the GFCI as the first rec on a circuit ,with no equipment grounding conductor, and put the rest of the rec on the load side of the GFCI then you would need to place a sticker on each rec stating GFCI protected, no equipment ground. Then you can put three prong rec in place of a two prong rec and still be following the code

Last edited by bhound84; 03-28-2010 at 08:27 PM.
bhound84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 08:32 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GFCI stickers?


I haven't actually seen anything in the NEC that requires the sticker
I have seen many new houses & none of them have the stickers
I do put the stickers on my basement protected outlets & the outside protected outlets
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 09:00 PM   #6
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 188
Rewards Points: 150
Default

GFCI stickers?


I only install them where you don't care if they are visible (outside, garages, unfinished basements, crawl spaces). I'll sometime put on the backside of the trim plate in kitchens and baths, so that info. is visible when you remove the plate.
Jupe Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 09:22 PM   #7
electrical instructor
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

GFCI stickers?


the reason you don't see them in new houses is because new houses are required to have equipment ground run with the circuits. the sticker is used when replacing two prong rec with three prong rec and installing a GFCI ahead of all the other rec a lot of old houses do not have equipment grounds
bhound84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 09:32 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GFCI stickers?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bhound84 View Post
the reason you don't see them in new houses is because new houses are required to have equipment ground run with the circuits. the sticker is used when replacing two prong rec with three prong rec and installing a GFCI ahead of all the other rec a lot of old houses do not have equipment grounds
There are 2 stickers in the box
Since the OP did not state what he is doing:
The "No equipment ground" sticker needs to be installed when there is only a 2 wire connection

The sticker that states: "GFCI protected" does not need to be installed
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 10:19 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GFCI stickers?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
The "No equipment ground" sticker needs to be installed when there is only a 2 wire connection

The sticker that states: "GFCI protected" does not need to be installed
When there is no equipment ground, GFCI'd receptacles must bear both stickers, not one or the other.

I'm unaware of any requirement to label a GFCI receptacle that is properly installed and grounded. Might be in there somewhere, but I've never come across it.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 10:25 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GFCI stickers?


Quote:
Originally Posted by thekctermite View Post
When there is no equipment ground, GFCI'd receptacles must bear both stickers, not one or the other
I'm thinking you mean on the outlets that are protected by a GFCI breaker or GFCI outlet ?
An actual GFCI outlet does not need a sticker stating it is GFCI protected ?

Hmmmm.....interesting...I just looked at 2 GFCI outlets & neither states anywhere on the face that it is a GFCI
The part that states GFCI is hidden by the face plate
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 10:30 PM   #11
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GFCI stickers?


Dave I was just clarifying the sticker requirement on GFCI'd circuits/receptacles that do not have an equipment ground. If no equiment ground exists, the code is clear that two stickers are required on each receptacle. That does in fact include the GFCI receptacle device itself. Technicality? Kind of dumb? Yes, but the code is clear on its requirement.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 10:54 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

GFCI stickers?


OK, I just wanted to be sure
I think I have seen some GFCI outlets that do have "GFCI" on the face that can be seen with the faceplate on
I was surpised that some of the ones I have do not have it
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 11:14 PM   #13
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 751
Rewards Points: 500
Default

GFCI stickers?


What is interesting is how many people post questions on this site, the first responses to which are "look for a GFCI nearby that has tripped."(meaning that the receptacle in question that is not working is being fed from a neardby GFCI receptacle.). What I find interesting is that there is nothing in the NEC that requires labeling for load-connected receptacles to indicate where the upstream GFCI is located (that has potential to de-energize the downstream loads).

In the end, Joe homeowner would not necessarily know what that label meant anyhow. Still, I find it odd that the electrical code does not require such labeling.

FWIW, in my house, I always note (using a Sharpe marker) the circuit breakers serving the circuits contained in each box along the way.

Jimmy

__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 57 08-13-2014 08:14 PM
Gfci Circuit howard.wheaton Electrical 10 01-29-2009 05:14 PM
new gfci on new circuit pops rtoni Electrical 39 11-15-2008 10:18 AM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 03:15 PM
GFCI questions 5circles Electrical 4 11-05-2007 08:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.