GFCI & Single Pole Switch Combo - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2009, 11:16 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Island
Posts: 348
Rewards Points: 250
Default

GFCI & Single Pole Switch combo


I have a Hubble GFCI/ single pole switch combo and from the back it looks like a normal GFCI with two brass screws and two silver BUT with two black wires coming out of the bottom. ( was hoping for terminals)I looked at the Hubble site and cant find a wiring diagram. I tried the light (black and white ) wires on the two wires coming out of the back but nada.

Anyone have a clue on this one, it would be appreciated. Thanks

Advertisement

II Weeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 05:42 AM   #2
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,546
Rewards Points: 2,072
Default

GFCI & Single Pole Switch combo


Here is the Hubbell datasheet for the current model:
http://www.hubbellcatalog.com/HomeSe...asp?PN=GFSP15I

Do you have a meter ?

Advertisement

__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 06:55 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Island
Posts: 348
Rewards Points: 250
Default

GFCI & Single Pole Switch combo


I'll have to get back to you on that model number but that looks like it and yeah, I have a meter and I tested a lot of different combination s with those wires
II Weeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 06:56 AM   #4
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

GFCI & Single Pole Switch combo


Quote:
Originally Posted by II Weeks View Post
I have a Hubble GFCI/ single pole switch combo and from the back it looks like a normal GFCI with two brass screws and two silver BUT with two black wires coming out of the bottom. ( was hoping for terminals)I looked at the Hubble site and cant find a wiring diagram. I tried the light (black and white ) wires on the two wires coming out of the back but nada.

Anyone have a clue on this one, it would be appreciated. Thanks

Well lets see. You need the neutral to go on the sliver screw that is obvious for the GFCI. And the rest is like a single pole switch. Power goes to one copper screw and the light goes to the other. Now are you sure you have power there and if you do it is possible that the device is not good anymore.
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 07:03 AM   #5
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

GFCI & Single Pole Switch combo


The screws should be designated as line and load (silver-neutral, brass-hot). The two wires are for the hot and switched hot to whatever it is you want to control. What wires are in the box now (color, function, number)?
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 08:37 AM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

GFCI & Single Pole Switch combo


I wonder why on the product sheet they show the plug upside down, i better go and have a talk with them. I am just kidding of course.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 09:33 AM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,247
Rewards Points: 2,464
Default

GFCI & Single Pole Switch combo


Quote:
Originally Posted by II Weeks View Post
I'll have to get back to you on that model number but that looks like it and yeah, I have a meter and I tested a lot of different combination s with those wires
And the results were??? And how did you test them?

MY guess is the device is fine and you wire it as Househelper has already stated. If you bought it new it should have a wiring diagram in the box or on the box itself.

Like he said what wires/cables are in the box and what is their function?...Incoming power with neutral.... black and white switch loop...? And don't forget the possibility of a burned out light bulb...
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 11:52 AM   #8
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,546
Rewards Points: 2,072
Default

GFCI & Single Pole Switch combo


Darren, I know you were just kidding about the GFCI being upside down. When 3 prong receptacles were just getting real popular most manufacturers showed the ground pin on top. I believe the reason was that since the ground pin on a plug is longer, it would be easier to visually line up the plug with the receptacle.
http://www.hubbell-wiring.com/Press/PDFS/H5212.pdf

Trivia
Quote:
from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Domesti...gs_and_sockets
The three-prong plug was invented by Philip F. Labre, while he was attending the Milwaukee School of Engineering (MSOE). It is said that his landlady had a cat which would knock over her fan when it came in the window. When she plugged the fan back in, she would get an electric shock. Labre figured out that if the plug were grounded, the electricity would go to earth through the plug rather than his landlady. He applied for and was issued a patent for grounding receptacle and plug on June 5, 1928.
and from the same source, a historical note on Hubbell:
Quote:
......The original two blade electrical plug and socket were invented by Harvey Hubbell and patented in 1904. He left one socket hole bigger than the other, so that people would not electrocute themselves by putting a plug upside down into a socket.
sorry to digress but this stuff is really fun
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 01:06 PM   #9
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

GFCI & Single Pole Switch combo


Hey Bob thanks for that link to wikipedia, when i have more time i am going to read through it.

The idea of haveing ground up is safety bonus as well, if you were usueing stainless plates and for some strange reason the plate fell off the first prong it wll hit is the ground.

I was pulling wire in once and was pulling on the fish tape and letting it fall behind me. Directly behind was a worn out plug and our extension cord was half hanging out. So when the fish tape went back it landed squarly on the hot and neutral with a nice little bang and a good scorch mark in our fishtape.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 05:59 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Island
Posts: 348
Rewards Points: 250
Default

GFCI & Single Pole Switch combo


thanks guys for all the feedback. Sorry I was at work and couldnt respond sooner.
Heres what worked:

Black feed went to "Line" AND the black wire from the GFCI/Switch that is closest to the terminal. ( Why this isnt done internally, I dont know)

The white feed AND the white light go to the silver side marked line.

The black from the light then goes to the remaining black wire from the GFCI.


Works fine but what a pain in the arse. Lesson learned besides this, DONT THROW AWAY UNFAMILIAR SWITCH BOXES! Im sure the wiring diagram was in there.

Once again guys, thanks and save this crib note, it might come handy one day.

use these, it helps
Attached Thumbnails
GFCI & Single Pole Switch combo-spade-terminals.jpg  
II Weeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 06:30 PM   #11
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

GFCI & Single Pole Switch combo


Quote:
Originally Posted by II Weeks View Post
....
Black feed went to "Line" AND the black wire from the GFCI/Switch that is closest to the terminal. ( Why this isnt done internally, I dont know)....

Usually it's not done internally by the manufacturer because they don't know what the switch is going to control in the end. Most switches control lights, and since lights don't have to be GFCI'd, they can save a few pennies by not doing it. If you want the load of the switch to be GFCI protected, just attach one of the switch lead wires to the black (hot) terminal of the 'load' side of the GFCI, and the other switch lead wire to the black wire going to the load. Also attach the white (neutral) wire going to the load to the white terminal of the 'load' side of the GFCI. The GFCI will then 'see' the load, and protect it accordingly.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 06:44 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Island
Posts: 348
Rewards Points: 250
Default

GFCI & Single Pole Switch combo


that makes sense. Thanks SD515.

::saving to notes::
II Weeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 06:57 PM   #13
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

GFCI & Single Pole Switch combo



Advertisement

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting a single pole switch to a 3 way Rze Electrical 7 09-13-2011 01:39 PM
Converting a single pole switch to a 3 way Rze Electrical 9 05-02-2011 11:10 AM
single gang single pole switch on fan fabian Electrical 14 03-05-2009 02:11 AM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 08:59 PM
Anybody ever seen a 5A 250V single pole switch? jayp Electrical 5 08-04-2008 06:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts