Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-24-2009, 06:24 AM   #16
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Share |
Default

GFCI screw or push in ?


handifoot, i do not believe these types are meant to be wrapped. there are two holes for each screw.
just strip the wire, slip it in the back and tighten the screw!
gigs: i find it hard to believe that you could even attempt to put 3-5 wires into the backs without tightening them as you go, one at a time.
they'd just fall out. you pretty much HAVE to tighten each one as you go.....

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 11:19 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,946
Default

GFCI screw or push in ?


A right angle bend is usually not enough to be held down by the screw itself, unless there are ridges in the nearby metal or in the surrounding plastic to keep the wire from slipping away, or unless the screw head has a ring like concavity on the underside to keep the wire from slipping out.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 01:14 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: portland, OR
Posts: 151
Default

GFCI screw or push in ?


Yeah, I guess your right. Even though I think it's a real tight connection and it's an outside weatherproof box that's a pain to put together with the screws through the plates and foam insulation, I will redo the connections before I energize the thing. Funny, it seems to me that I've always heard that the back stab type connections were an inferior design.
__________________
I'm gonna hurl myself against the wall
because I'd rather feel bad than not feel anything at all
Warren Zevon
handifoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 01:27 PM   #19
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

GFCI screw or push in ?


i believe you're thinking of the 'clamping' type normal outlets. seen 'em, replaced 'em, won't use 'em....
those seem to loosen over time, not so the screw-clamp style.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 01:28 PM   #20
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

GFCI screw or push in ?


also, remember that if it's brand new, you need to push the reset/test button to turn it on after energizing.... lol
(been there, didn't done that, got embarrased)

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 02:00 PM   #21
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 517
Default

GFCI screw or push in ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by handifoot View Post
Funny, it seems to me that I've always heard that the back stab type connections were an inferior design.
Back stabbed is not the same as back wired. Back stabs rely on pressure from the metal holding in the wire. Back wired rely on pushing the wire in and then screwing down the connection. This is a very tight, very good connection. Back stabbing, not so much.
Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 02:56 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: portland, OR
Posts: 151
Default

GFCI screw or push in ?


Thanks to all, Mouse and Planz, I really appreciate your ability to laugh at your own mistakes. Your egos must be somewhat intact.
__________________
I'm gonna hurl myself against the wall
because I'd rather feel bad than not feel anything at all
Warren Zevon
handifoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 05:08 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Default

GFCI screw or push in ?


I've been installing Leviton GFCI's, which are supposed to be back-wired, but...
I have had too many of them pull out during a moderate "tug-test" on the wires after seemingly secured by the screws.
After three or four pull-outs, I gave up, and started wrapping a full turn of bare wire around the screw, pinching it with needle nose, and securing the screw. Never comes loose.

I believe this is only a problem with the "cheaper" GFCI's. Yours from China would unfortunately qualify as cheap, in my opinion.

I agree that it is difficult to side-wire these critters. The screw doesn't want to stay out, but I solve the problem by putting a slight down-twist into the loop of wire I wrap around the screw. It takes patience, and some experience.

I would also be extremely careful with those China GFCI's when tightening the screws. While you need to get them secure so the wires don't pop out, and a good connection is made, you don't want to strip them out.

FW

__________________


Last edited by KE2KB; 05-24-2009 at 05:14 PM.
KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 57 08-13-2014 08:14 PM
Gfci Circuit howard.wheaton Electrical 10 01-29-2009 05:14 PM
new gfci on new circuit pops rtoni Electrical 39 11-15-2008 10:18 AM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 03:15 PM
GFCI questions 5circles Electrical 4 11-05-2007 08:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.