Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-23-2009, 12:04 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: portland, OR
Posts: 151
Share |
Default

GFCI screw or push in ?


So, are the screw connectors on the sides of GFCI receptacles supposed to have the wires under them or are they only there to secure the push in from the rear. These screws are very difficult to get a 12g conductor safely under them.
__________________
I'm gonna hurl myself against the wall
because I'd rather feel bad than not feel anything at all
Warren Zevon
handifoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 12:10 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

GFCI screw or push in ?


the screws are there to lock the backstabbed wire securely. it'd be real hard to get 12g around those, for sure.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 12:11 PM   #3
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 474
Default

GFCI screw or push in ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by handifoot View Post
So, are the screw connectors on the sides of GFCI receptacles supposed to have the wires under them or are they only there to secure the push in from the rear. These screws are very difficult to get a 12g conductor safely under them.
I struggled with wrapping wire around those recessed screw heads until if finally dawned on me that the screw heads are not meant for a wrapped wire. Putting the wire in the holes in the back, and screwing down to tighten them is how you are supposed to connect the device. I had a 'Der' moment when it finally dawned on me.
Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 12:11 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

GFCI screw or push in ?


The wire slips behind the pressure plate, not under the screw.



Quote:
I struggled with wrapping wire around those recessed screw heads until if finally dawned on me that the screw heads are not meant for a wrapped wire
Some switches are being built like that now (P&S rocker switches). I always seem to strip and bend the wires (out of years of habit) and then look to see that the bend is not required.

Last edited by 220/221; 05-23-2009 at 12:14 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 12:13 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,674
Default

GFCI screw or push in ?


It'd be nice if you three agreed on something.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 12:16 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

GFCI screw or push in ?


We all agree on who is the biggest ahole here
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 12:23 PM   #7
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

GFCI screw or push in ?


i believe he's looking at one like this. the pressure plate does not move nor do the screws come out very far to allow wrapping. (they wiggle and slip back in like hell when you try to get the wire around it)
stab and tighten only.

DM
Attached Thumbnails
GFCI  screw or push in ?-gfci.jpg  
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 12:24 PM   #8
Member
 
Bigplanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 474
Default

GFCI screw or push in ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
The wire slips behind the pressure plate, not under the screw.





Some switches are being built like that now (P&S rocker switches). I always seem to strip and bend the wires (out of years of habit) and then look to see that the bend is not required.
Since I have used them on GFCIs, I prefer the pressure plate, wire in the hole, screw down method. Seems much more secure, plus it's easier. I pay a little extra for that on a receptacle or switch, but it's worth it to me.
Bigplanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 12:28 PM   #9
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,471
Default

GFCI screw or push in ?


DM,
Thanks for the posting the pic. Who makes that GFCI?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 01:08 PM   #10
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

GFCI screw or push in ?


North Tech (china)

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 01:12 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,674
Default

GFCI screw or push in ?


At least mine was light hearted joke.
Look at the post times of the first three replies.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 04:05 PM   #12
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

GFCI screw or push in ?


The only problem with the pressure plate style is that it is entirely possible to install the outlet while forgetting to tighten the screws... And it may even work... for a while.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 09:19 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: portland, OR
Posts: 151
Default

GFCI screw or push in ?


Yep, mine's just like the picture. Nice to know I'm not the only one who struggles with this. I did manage to get the wires under the screws. It's not a great wrap around, more like a gentle right angle on the wire, but those suckers are very tightly secured under that #**##!! screw head. Next time it's the back stabs.
__________________
I'm gonna hurl myself against the wall
because I'd rather feel bad than not feel anything at all
Warren Zevon
handifoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 01:52 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 995
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

GFCI screw or push in ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigplanz View Post
Since I have used them on GFCIs, I prefer the pressure plate, wire in the hole, screw down method. Seems much more secure, plus it's easier. I pay a little extra for that on a receptacle or switch, but it's worth it to me.
Yeah the pressure plates are nice on the regular outlets too, but since the code requires Tamper Resistant outlets, I have yet to see TR outlets with the pressure plates. Maybe the Menards store that I go to just doesn't carry them or I am not looking in the right place.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2009, 02:40 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

GFCI screw or push in ?


Quote:
At least mine was light hearted joke.
As opposed to a mean spirited joke?

Well...I thought it was funny. Timing is everything in humor.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 40 10-15-2010 10:38 PM
Gfci Circuit howard.wheaton Electrical 10 01-29-2009 05:14 PM
new gfci on new circuit pops rtoni Electrical 39 11-15-2008 10:18 AM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 03:15 PM
GFCI questions 5circles Electrical 4 11-05-2007 08:24 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.