Gfci Receptacles Wired To Junction Box? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2013, 11:49 PM   #16
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,971
Rewards Points: 2,212
Default

Gfci receptacles wired to junction box?


John.... I think you're right to be cocerned...GFI's and breakes don't trip ouy of the blue.....

Can you think of anything else on those circuits, (or other circuits ) at that time.

Best

Peter

EDIT: Your GFI is end of run right... there is nothing on its load terminals right.

Advertisement

__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 11:56 PM   #17
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Gfci receptacles wired to junction box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by JCosenza View Post
Hi MTN. The breaker was added to the panel Wed morning and that evening after work I was in the backyard and we heard the GFI trip. It wasn't being used. I tried to reset it and it wouldn't reset. I went to check the breaker and it was tripped as well. I reset the breaker and then I went back outside and reset the GFI. It has been ok since then but worried me that a brand new circuit would do that.
Very rare the GFCI can cause the breaker to trip if not functing properly espcally when you hit the test button it should not trip the breaker but if that do then you will have to replace the GFCI receptale.

They are not super hard to replace but please make a note which side is line and load connection this is very important and a common item when someone make a mistake by connected wrong which the new GFCI will not enable when it is connected wrong.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 12:05 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gfci receptacles wired to junction box?


No there is nothing else.

From the panel > junction box > old white 12/2 > GFI it terminates there nothing is wired to the load side of the receptacle.
JCosenza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 12:18 AM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gfci receptacles wired to junction box?


I think the breaker tripped and that's why the GFI did. The GFI was brand new. I know how to change them I've changed receptacles and switches before. I'm going to use my electric lawn mower tomorrow and if anything happens.

If there is something wrong I would probably want to change that old wire first there could be an issue with it somewhere that I cannot see.

Thanks everyone!
JCosenza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 12:29 AM   #20
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Gfci receptacles wired to junction box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by JCosenza View Post
No there is nothing else.

From the panel > junction box > old white 12/2 > GFI it terminates there nothing is wired to the load side of the receptacle.
Ok and did you manually test the GFCI there with the test button and reset it and do work normally now ?

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 01:47 AM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gfci receptacles wired to junction box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
Ok and did you manually test the GFCI there with the test button and reset it and do work normally now ?

Merci,
Marc
I did yesterday. I pressed the test button and reset the GFI. Then I used the drill plugged into it with no issues.
JCosenza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 12:08 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gfci receptacles wired to junction box?


Hi everyone, I just wanted to say thanks for those of you who helped me out. I did learn a thing or two from this. Glad the way the electrician did the job wasn't wrong or dangerous.

The breaker or the GFI hasn't tripped since last Wed. I used my lawnmower with it Saturday with no issues. So its functioning properly. I still do not know what caused the breaker and subsequently the GFI to go out last week. I will keep monitoring it and hopefully it will be ok.

If I do feel like changing the wire to the receptable would it be ok to run 12/2 BX shielded cable to the junction box to replace the old white 12/2? Reason being is because it runs through the crawl space.

For now I will leave it because I think if its not broken don't touch it. however I want to know if there's any thing I should know/do.

Thanks!
-John

Advertisement

JCosenza is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dimmer Switch wired to receptacles? TrailerParadise Electrical 20 02-02-2013 11:21 PM
replacing direct wired CO2 detector into junction box. Not sure which wire is hot bodiroti Electrical 4 11-08-2012 04:26 PM
GFCI as part of light circuit? iceracer Electrical 5 07-05-2011 09:05 PM
Gfci receptacles wire continuity test Hialeahn Electrical 4 03-05-2010 07:52 PM
GFCI between porch receptacles Thurman Electrical 4 08-19-2009 01:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts